Poets logo

Chronic

Maybe she's born with it, maybe it's Maybelline

By Cali LoriaPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Chronic
Photo by National Cancer Institute on Unsplash

I do not feel

well

is it my body

or my brain

the connection is so thin

like the membranes

of my cells

from my blood

to my brain

my immune system

must be on

her

period

overreacting

as she is

maybe if I smiled more

I wouldn't be a

bitch

with these

spots on my lungs

Dalmatian

waiting for the fire

that first came from

black and mild

smoke

inhalation

said

you did this to your

self

overactive

imagination

even my t

cells

won't stop

gossiping

guess my last

vice

is just as toxic

as my first

it's so easy to justify

when it's not the booze

and the boys

and the men

with their toys

lying low

long enough to

stay alive

it was puff

puff

pass

on the information

until it's staring you in the face

in contrast

dye

that I

compare

and contrast

die

for

the

idea

that

well

I

do not

feel

First Draft

About the Creator

Cali Loria

Over punctuating, under delivering.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilakea day ago

    Liked that perspective.

Cali LoriaWritten by Cali Loria

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.