Poets logo

Break

A Haiku Series

By Lindsay SfaraPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - February 2024
25
Break
Photo by Christopher Windus on Unsplash

Why are you like this?

I’m angry at you for this,

but also myself.

.

I want to tell you,

but if I do, I hurt you.

I don’t want you hurt.

.

So what do I do?

Do I open up to you

or hide the anger?

.

But it has to go.

I can’t contain this in me

or I will just break.

.

I would make it worse,

for this to bottle until

the beast is unleashed.

.

And what then, my love?

Will you understand my thoughts?

Will you still love me?

.

I am too afraid

of hurting you and being

invalid; a brat.

.

I care more for you

than speaking to what hurt me.

I am stuck with this.

.

Please understand me.

Please understand my feelings

and we can improve.

.

But I accept it,

if you can’t see what I mean

when I speak my truth.

.

I feel better though,

to release the true feelings.

They are out there now.

.

For you to see me

you must know how I feel, Love,

or we don’t work out.

.

Ah, I get it now.

For one to understand me

I must let it out.

.

If you don’t like it,

if you don’t understand me,

then you don’t know me.

.

I need to be real.

Only then can I free me

from this rusty cage.

Stream of ConsciousnessMental HealthinspirationalheartbreakHaiku
25

About the Creator

Lindsay Sfara

I'm just a daydreaming nerd writing poetry and fiction about mental health.

Follow my novel journey and more: linktr.ee/lindsaysfara

"Not all those who wander are lost" - J.R.R. Tolkien

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • olymoolla3 months ago

    You have written so many beautiful stories your story is admirable please visit my vocal id and read a story please

  • sudip tarafder3 months ago

    Congrats! I enjoyed it!’

  • Dariusz 3 months ago

    Congratulations on top story :)

  • Back to say congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Abolarin Ebenezer3 months ago

    Good job

  • Rowan Finley 3 months ago

    Highly relatable!

  • ANFAS3 months ago

    👌👌

  • ANFAS3 months ago

    NICE

  • Anna 3 months ago

    Congrats on Top Story!🥳

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    The haikus are a brilliant structure for this profound journey- thank you for sharing!

  • The simplicity of this highlights the emotions really well. Great poem and congrats on the Top Story!

  • Caroline Jane3 months ago

    This is sincere, elegant, and clever. Great poem. Well deserved top story!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    Beautifully written. Congrats on the TS.

  • I always tend to communication what I feel because being open and honest is very important in any relationship. I used to bottle up last time but like you mentioned above, it'll only unleash the beast in me when I explode. I loved your set of Haikus!

  • Love this

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Lots of internal conflict, great progression in the haikus!

  • John Cox3 months ago

    This should totally be a thing! I love how you processed in this series the balancing act of addressing hurt with the need to be true. Knowing one another fully comes at a cost, but without taking the relational risk, you cannot be truly known at all. This is courageous and feeling writing, Lindsay. Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.