Poets logo

Brain Surgery

Perhaps a Goodbye Dialogue

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 days ago 1 min read
Brain Surgery
Photo by Milad Fakurian on Unsplash

Did you leave anything intact? I asked the neurosurgeon.

“I took out as much as I could without harming your mind,” I heard the reply.

I keep my mind in my chest, I stated.

“In your heart?” I heard the reply.

Not in my blood pump. It needs air, not water.

“I may have impacted your brain.”

I think that you did and in several ways. I see the sky all around me and I can smell the rain of my youth. The Sun looks like the Moon. I wonder if the Moon looks like the Sun.

“Do you feel any pain?”

I always did since I was a kid. Pain and suffering were my parents, but luckily I discovered the meaning of life. It was mostly bad, the luck, but the meaning was hairy and then smooth. Times have changed it. Nothing seems to remain the same.

“Can you pinpoint the pain that you feel right now?”

I feel it in my chest.

“In your mind?”

Just in my chest. I feel damaged.

“Please explain!”

You removed parts of my brain, including the memories that they contained.

“Most of your memories may have been spared. I did my best.”

I do not remember who I am, but I feel the weight of the world. I must be Greek or a wandering Jew.

“You are not Greek or a Jew, as far as I know.”

I know that I am not German, but I love Nietzsche.

“You are not German.”

I must be human, then. Human, all too human. Yet, a big part of me wants to be a tree, in a small forest, near a woman. I wonder who she is.

“She must be a figment of your imagination.”

But I feel her in my chest.

“She may be real in that case.”

Perhaps I knew such a woman once upon a time.

-----

Pink Floyd - Brain Damage

sad poetrysocial commentaryFree Verse

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • shanmuga priya3 days ago

    Is the confusion of self-identity after brain surgery true..

Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.