Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Why can’t I…

just try?

By Hillery D. KeeferPublished 6 days ago 1 min read
Why can’t I…
Photo by engin akyurt on Unsplash

I want to die

It’s what I think the most about

But I’m afraid

I’ll survive

Or I’ll hurt someone else

I could slit my wrists

But then my kids would find me

In a bathtub full of blood

And be traumatised

I could take cyanide

(Can I make cyanide?)

But if I survive

Life would be worse

I could hang myself

Where do I get the rope?

How do I tie the knot?

Where do I hang where no one will find me?

I could jump of the roof at work

It’s high enough

But when they find my gnarled body?

And if I don’t die?

I could take all my pills

But probably end up

Throwing up

Getting my stomach pumped

I could drive into oncoming traffic

But I would kill

The other driver

And in all these cases

If I don’t die

I’ll end up in the psychiatric ward

And who would miss me?

My kids

Sandra

My mom

My brother

But could I please just die?

Or….

Can I learn to value my own life

And stop all this suffering inside?

sad poetryMental HealthFree Verse

About the Creator

Hillery D. Keefer

Hi! ^_^

My name is Hillery, with an 'e.' Nice to meet you. I'm new here but I've been writing poetry and flash fiction since I was a child. I like to write in the way that I think, so I guess it's kind of stream-of-consciousness at times.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Crysta Coburna day ago

    I would miss you!

Hillery D. KeeferWritten by Hillery D. Keefer

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.