Poets logo

Blue

For Poppy Color Challenge

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 9 months ago 1 min read
Blue
Photo by Anna Rozwadowska on Unsplash

Ah my dear sweet blue

Always a misunderstood hue

Blue is the color of vastness

Associated with sadness

But also calmness, relaxation

Of cyan and magenta you are an annexation

Oceanic, titanic.. in roaring waves you thrum

In the sky you become of all the sum

We sing of a Blue Bayou

Beneath Blue Kentucky Moon

But I am happy to fly off into that wild blue yonder

Infusing my soul with a wild blue wonder

So long as you shower me with Forget Me Nots

My blue soul will never be tied in knots

nature poetry

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 months ago

    Awww, this was so wonderful! I loved your poem for this challenge!

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Warmth and forget-me-nots are spinning in my head. I love the rhyme and sentiments in your poem. Quite lovely it is.

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Wow, every line of this was poetic bliss! I was hooked straight away. It's hard to choose but I think my favourite line is 'So long as you shower me with Forget Me Nots'. That's just a gorgeous sentiment and imagery. But the ending was also really impactful. Thank you for taking part!

Andrew C McDonaldWritten by Andrew C McDonald

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.