Poets logo

Yearning

Wanting You

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
3
Yearning
Photo by Alexander Grey on Unsplash

Angst, worry, loneliness, longing, fears

Each time you ignore me I shed invisible tears

I strive to do all you desire

Whilst you pour cooling water on my fire

I don’t know why I care so much

But my heart in your fists you clutch

Since first I saw you my soul has yearned

Your attention, your love, to have earned

Yet you barely know I exist

Despite that it’s for you I daily subsist

Everyone tells me to let you go

That my love for you is my greatest foe

While I know they are indeed quite right

The very idea of not being near you my being doth fight

When you greet me with even a smile

My heart skips a quarter mile

When I see you kiss another guy

It cuts me like a knife to the eye

If only I didn’t fear to confess my ardor

If only I didn’t think twould make it harder

I’d place my heart in your gentle hands

I’d chain myself in your silken bands

I dream of stroking your flaming hair

Kissing your perfect lips if only I dare

Tonight I plan to take the plunge

To the target of your heart will I lunge

Consequences be damned I have to try

And pray my soul you don’t leave lie

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreak
3

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    This was so sad and extremely emotional. Unrequited love is so heartbreaking. Loved your poem!

  • Brenton F8 months ago

    i could feel tension of the build up and then the plunge - a beautiful piece Andrew!

  • L.C. Schäfer8 months ago

    Bringing doth back, I like it 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.