Poets logo

Blood is to be Thicker than Water.

but I'd drink water before blood.

By Danielle FairchildPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
The mountains in Alabama. 2021.

Blood is to be thicker than water,

But that don't mean shit because your related.

Some people appear to be gold,

When really, their only gold plated.

It almost seems now-a-days,

Trusting family is overrated.

You learn to leave behind

All of their greed and their hatred.

Blood is to be thicker than water,

But I've had water be thicker.

I've also had blood be sicker,

Whenever you speak,

You only hear yourselves bicker.

Until no words are spoken,

And there's no bickering to hear.

You've reached the point

Where they choose not to come near.

Blood is to be thicker than water,

But when they are who chose to leave,

You notice all the change around you,

and realize your actually pleased.

All their lies and negativity lie at rest,

Looking around you

You've accustomed to the best.

Their bullshit is gone,

Along with their hatred.

I mean come on now,

trusting family is overrated.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Danielle Fairchild

I've been writing since I was in grade school. Poems, small articles, pieces to stories, and I'm finally getting around to wanting a platform to share my work on. I'm a mother, wife, writer, herbalist, and local bartender.

-Love Life. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.