Poets logo

Blast From the Past

A poem about my untold, unfinished story by ED 5/9/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Blast From the Past
Photo by normal_haru on Unsplash

Did I tell you that one story

About how I achieved glory

With patience, and quiet hope?

Where some saw a slippery slope

I saw new opportunity

Do you want to experience it with me?

Really, I’m glad you’re here to see this

From that first innocent kiss

To every full blown mess

(That I’m glad you won’t have to address)

I appreciate all the days you made

The choice to stay, though time and beauty fade

The great unknown is now my home

No longer does my heart roam alone

I found the one you always dreamed of

Now my life is full of love because

I traversed high mountains

I nearly drowned in wishing well fountains

Praying that I would escape alive

At the cliffside I took a deep dive

Instead of falling I started to soar

The meek little lamb began to roar

The clutches of enemies grasped at thin air

While I glided through weather so fair

And I flew and I flew and I flew

What I felt no one knew

But the One up above in the sky

So high, where I lift my eyes

And by my side the man who adores

My truths and my lores

He has become the diamond in my heart

In the rough where the deadly shards

Lay to waste with unbelievable haste

The lives left behind, sheared off at the waist

I’m finally safe, living out my days

Bathing in the delicious golden rays

Away from winter’s haze, I find

That those who don’t oppose me are really my kind

I’ll finish this story sometime, eventually

But for now, just know I’m happy, perpetually.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.