Poets logo

Blackberries

Poem

By Taylor Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Blackberries
Photo by Will Tarpey on Unsplash

The storm is starting to form outside of my window

I sit and watch as the angry clouds form into their dark billowy masses

I can hear my mother’s voice in the kitchen as she sings softly to herself

A faint smell of blackberries starts to arise from the kitchen

Mixing with the smell of the oncoming rain

I can hear the thunder in the distance as a bolt of lightning dances across the sky…

Blackberries and rain

My mother’s voice…

I want to go back; back to that time as a youth

I open my eyes

I’m not in my mother’s house, but in the cramped office where I work

I look out the window and see the bolts of lightning lick the sky

I’m now grown

No longer can I sit and watch the storms like I used to

Now, there’s just too much work to be done

But for now, I’ll just close my eyes and reminisce

On the memories that I have of that simpler time

To the time of my mother’s signing

And the smell of my childhood;

The smell of blackberries and rain

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Taylor

I have always enjoyed writing, especially short stories and poetry. I have always written for myself mainly and I want to start sharing my works. Thank you for reading and enjoy!!!!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.