Poets logo

Black Sheep

The Family that you were Born into does not define your destiny.

By HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)Published 11 months ago โ€ข Updated 11 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
24
Black Sheep
Photo by Jose Francisco Morales on Unsplash

The world sees the same things that you think you are...

But how do you apply yourself to the Stereotypes of the Greatest Things about you, when you were never told these things?

Have you ever watched a Movie and seen parts of your life, inside the picture?

How do you grab back your hope and clasp your creativity?

These things aren't easy as it seems.

I cried for myself and I wondered who cried with me...

I expressed in words my profound Empathy, but what are words to a deaf ear?

I told myself I wouldn't feel guilty for this Good thing that is happening to me...

Although it may feel kinda anomalous, I am happy for myself because it has been a Fright to stand alone inside a Battle you are not sure you can Surviveโ—

You give the love that you want to receive, but It doesn't usually come back to me.

I haven't let these things hinder me although I've had to pick up my emotions more than one time from the floor, I walk harder with my Limp!

If it is My Destiny to Succeed, then that's where I See Myself.

Dancing along the lines of my life with Me, Myself, and Godโ—

BLACK SHEEP ๐Ÿ–ค๐Ÿ

excerpts
24

About the Creator

HandsomelouiiThePoet (Lonzo ward)

Welcome to โ€œMy Public Diary โ€œ๐Ÿคช๐Ÿ’–

Your Mind is

A Wonderland of

Your Imagination

Make it Beautiful!

๐ŸŽ‰I am an Actor, Model, Writer, and Entrepreneur โค๏ธโค๏ธ๐Ÿ™

Send Tip$๐Ÿ€ โค๏ธ๐Ÿ˜‰Send Hearts and Add insights if you'd like ๐Ÿ˜ โœจ๐Ÿ’ฏ๐Ÿ˜‰โ—

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (20)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    So incredibly heartfelt and relatable! Love this one, Lonzo :)

  • Serenity Nyx10 months ago

    'I cried for myself and I wondered who cried with me'.... Sheeessssh! Resonating!

  • Ruth Stewart10 months ago

    Relatable! I love this expressive form. Well done, it's great work and an entertaining read.

  • Dana Stewart10 months ago

    This is the bomb! Love it!

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    ๐Ÿ™Œ๐Ÿ™ŒI like the sentiments here in your free verse Lonzo. Also quite relatable for many! ๐Ÿ‘โœจโ˜บ๏ธ

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    Excellent work my friend ๐Ÿฅฐ

  • Melissa Ingoldsby10 months ago

    I'm. A Proud black sheep๐Ÿ™‡

  • Misty Rae10 months ago

    I sooooo relate to this. I jokingly call myself the Black sheep on one side of the family and the white sheep on the other. It's a play, obviously on my biracial heritage and my varying degrees of non-acceptance on each side. Well done, beautiful work indeed.

  • Jay Kantor10 months ago

    Dear Handsome ~ I've always been the 'Black Sheep' of my entire family - I never saw any color ~ - You are a Gift to us - You shall, indeed, 'Succeed' - Jay

  • Gina C.10 months ago

    I love this, Lonzo. I always always felt like I am the "black sheep" of my family because my parents and brothers are all very extroverted. I'm way more introverted and always feel quite disconnected. It's been a struggle my whole life. I really appreciate these inspiring words words those whole feel a bit on the outside. ๐Ÿฅฒ Some really great lines in this!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    than a minute ago I love the energy of this piece! That "I walk harder with my limp" phrase was Flyy! Awesome work lil bro!

  • Julia Schulz10 months ago

    Great piece.

  • Dorothy Gibbs10 months ago

    Enjoyed this truth

  • Cathy Deslippe10 months ago

    You are so right, I totally can relate to the "Black Sheep". I know what its like to give the love we long for and truly deserve. I really enjoyed reading your poem. Touched my heart in more ways than you can imagine, Thank you xoxo Love Cathy

  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is wonderful. Well done.

  • You give the love you want to receive but it usually doesn't come back to me. That is the sad bitter truth. Powerful poem!

  • Holly Pheni11 months ago

    This is beautifully vulnerable and relatable! Keep using your gifts for good, and enjoy the blessings that come your way!

  • Cendrine Marrouat11 months ago

    Very well written!

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿป๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ™ ๐Ÿ’ฏ That's how I felt after reading that. Great Job, Lonzo.

  • To succeed as the black sheep is the sweetest revenge. To fail as the golden boy/girl is just sad.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.