Poets logo

Biloxi

a poem

By Mark BurrPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Biloxi
Photo by anna breaux on Unsplash

it’s cold outside.

In your garage Prince is pouring out

1999

on the TV you’ve had since you were a child.

When I’m in Biloxi

we chase bottle glass,

neon dollars, and recycled air.

We wager against the house with no windows,

where a day without sunlight=

can feel just like night.

We drown in a sea of luck

where everyone loves to drown.

But you feel your dreams die

as your stomach growls.

You are a student of signs,

you read the machine like a palm

up to the universe,

you study dreams.

I can’t remember my dreams

enough,

to wish to never dream.

But I can remember you:

You are the green ivy in the morning

on Eagle Pine Island where there is only one road.

You are the saddest music juking on stein glass legs.

You are the summer on Reginald Street

where we bake in pools and float wine stems

filled with Beaujolais noveau and smoke Parliaments.

You are my Super Mario Galaxy

where all the stars are upside-down

and at my feet.

Every house you live in becomes my home.

Now I am a nomad

and nowhere feels like home.

Can I go where you go?

Let me be your canary.

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mark Burr

Mark Burr is a poet from Ocean Springs MS. He was last published in Prairie Schooner. He is currently working on a chapbook. He also writes short stories and takes cool pictures with his camera.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.