Poets logo

Between Two Storms

For Smooth

By Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)Published 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - December 2023
24
Between Two Storms
Photo by Jimmy Conover on Unsplash

the silkiness of you

a pink petal from my body

more bright and beautiful than any other part of me

your newness

my little drift of warm, untouched snow

blushed by the sunrise

of a brand new life

encircled by the fierce fire in my chest

that burns to preserve you

lighting tenderness on my fingertips

to encase you

and always, always to marvel at the beauty of your smooth skin

my shorn little lamb

raw and vulnerable

yet brimming bright with potential

when I lift you

bring you home

your skin against mine

(at last at last)

I realise every cell of me was aching to do it

and now I'm home, too

we're the softest lego pieces

a perfect, squishy fit

for a moment

I forget to regret

the new folds and rolls I've collected

instead: relief

ah, but at least I am soft enough

for the newness of you

ever in awe of your perfection

never before have I counted to ten

again and again

with so much wonder

even those tiny wrinkles: flawless

a song to my palms

you, so little

yet so big in my world

you are my world

and I am yours

we are a world of satin cushion skin

years will roughen us both

nights will spike long

blurry coffee stained days will grate

life will scar us

but for now

in this perfect droplet of a brand new moment

between two storms

we are nothing but silken love

__________________________________________________

I wrote this for the Smooth challenge. I hope you liked it. :-D

love poems
24

About the Creator

Sam The Doula (Blooming Miracle)

Childbirth Eductator since 2011

Building a resource for mothers-to-be to feel informed and confident about their choices

You can find me on Facebook or book classes with me

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (21)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 5 months ago

    You ran through a lifetime, outlining the baby and mom journey beautifully.

  • Linda Rivenbark5 months ago

    I have been there three times...the soft, silky, indescribable feel of holding my newborn baby. Decades later, I know the intervening scars and hard times of life try to destroy the memories of those moments of bliss and unspeakable joy, but the feeling of soft, smooth baby skin in mine can never be taken from this mother's heart and mind!

  • This is beautiful! Your imagery stirs memories within my melting pot of deliveries. So successful- thanks.

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    That first joy of meeting your child, beautifully captured. I love this line: we are a world of satin cushion skin.

  • Ghulam Fayyaz5 months ago

    true love between mother and child....

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    Whoa!!! That ending was perfect! Congrats!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • beautiful

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Oh yay! I am so glad they listened to Mike and myself and made this Top Story. Well done, Sam! Love this piece so much!

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Brilliant and beautiful!!! Loved it!!!

  • Heather Hubler5 months ago

    Awww!!! Made me think back to holding each of my four for the first time. Magic. And I was in love the phrase 'softest lego pieces'. What a beautiful entry :)

  • Thank you to everyone for your kind words! Naveed inspired me to do this: https://vocal.media/writers/the-mother-of-all-challenges

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Stunning. That is all. Stunning. You perfectly encapsulated such a sacred and beautiful moment in time with a poem that is fuelled by emotion. Loved it.

  • This was soooo beautifully written. Loved your poem!

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    A very poetically beautiful poem.

  • Test5 months ago

    A beautiful and moving tribute to the power of love and the miracle of new life.

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    This is beautiful, Sam. Nicely done..

  • Beautiful words and a great challenge entry

  • Mother Combs5 months ago

    Gorgeously beautiful entry

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.