Poets logo

Beside Me

Always.

By J. S. WadePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2022
Beside Me
Photo by Soroush Karimi on Unsplash

Cool mountain airs tempered 

by a setting sun  

brings calm as you’re…  

beside me. 

💕

Cotton candy clouds soar 

across blue skies 

your gentle hands on mine…  

beside me. 

💕

A Wicked song, Broadway’s prime 

I’m Defying Gravity 

with my Princess…  

beside me. 

💕

Hustling, bustling, Manhattan town 

you awaken 

to love unknown …  

beside me. 

💕

Loved, Grateful, Blessed 

our family crest  

with our kids and pups and cats… 

beside us. 

💕

A crash unheard 

medivac unseen  

my son is dead, and you are there… 

beside me. 

💕

Into depths of grief 

my mind and heart collapse 

I survive with you…  

beside me. 

💕

One for all and all for one 

though clocks tick fast 

I covet the days… 

beside you. 

💕

Comfort one, comfort all 

through life’s travails 

and revels 

I want you… 

Always… 

Beside me. 

love poemsinspirational

About the Creator

J. S. Wade

Since reading Tolkien in Middle school, I have been fascinated with creating, reading, and hearing art through story’s and music. I am a perpetual student of writing and life.

J. S. Wade owns all work contained here.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (28)

  • Biniyamabout a year ago

    Creative,loved it.

  • Mackenzie Davisabout a year ago

    What a lovely refrain, and such depth to the emotions behind the words. I very much enjoyed this one, Scott. Thank you for sharing this. And I'm so terribly sorry for your loss. I can't begin to imagine.

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Scott, this was such an emotional and are piece! I can feel the passion and devastation with which you painted this master piece! I love you vivid imagery that was created with your descriptive language! This was romantic and dreamy until tragedy struck, but I love that you were able to bring it back for a beautiful heart- warming finish. 💜

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    I think this is your best ♥️♥️

  • C. R. Drinkwaterabout a year ago

    This is stunning.

  • Dana Stewart2 years ago

    Incredibly powerful! You conveyed the emotions of pleasure and pain. Truly a feather in your cap with this one.

  • Phoenix2 years ago

    Great! I want to give you credit!

  • Kris Griffith2 years ago

    Wow, great work!

  • Hitchinson Metz2 years ago

    Beautiful poem.

  • Amy Hall2 years ago

    Beautifully written.. subscribed!

  • Seuruyalvi2 years ago

    Powerlessness and hope

  • The Dani Writer2 years ago

    Deep sentiment. Unbreakable bonds. Traumatic loss. Simple truths. You have captured a lifetime with a lens. I feel for you during the times that were unbearably hard. I am grateful that you are not alone.

  • Pam Reeder2 years ago

    Beautiful poem. So sorry for your loss. Such unfathomable pain.

  • Such a beautiful heartfelt writing. Thank you for sharing.

  • Heather Lunsford2 years ago

    Devastating, in the best possible way. Thank you

  • Manisha Dhalani2 years ago

    Heartfelt

  • Wow... Powerful! Death should never be faced alone❤️

  • Natalia Grin2 years ago

    So beautiful.

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    So raw and beautiful. I'm sorry for your loss.

  • Scott, this was beautiful

  • This made me remember the line 'He won a different race'. So sorry for your loss 🥺 I'm so glad you have a source of comfort to help you endure the journey of grief. This was a very beautifully written poem!

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    A true comfort poem , sorry for your loss 😔

  • Dawn Salois2 years ago

    Heartbreaking and beautiful. I’m so sorry for your loss.

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    That was wonderful, tugged on the heart strings for so many reasons! And bonus points for the Wicked reference!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Heartfelt and comforting!!! The repeated line with the love and grief, it's your best entry!!!💖💕

J. S. WadeWritten by J. S. Wade

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.