Poets logo

Being Home

Missing Home

By Claudia RodriguezPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Blue Skies Memories of Home

Guatemala a natural beauty, a spring paradise

Home to El quetzal, and La Monja Blanca,

Saturday night of tamales and family gatherings

Sunday morning of Chiles Rellenos with hot coffee.

That was home with its blue skies and sunny afternoons

She saw my childhood of innocence and fantasy pass by all too quickly.

She gave her love and hopes for a future life,

enjoyed at the foot of her Ceiba trees.

This is what home is; the taste of a special meal

Home is the feeling of warmth at the hearth

Home, the hugs that come with arrival at the end of a day

Home, the childhood memories that never fade

Home is the one place I may never see again, as it once was.

Life has changed for all,

I grew and I now have children of my own.

The days go by in this new land, I call it home as I live here,

But my heart is still ”Back Home” with days gone by;

I live off memories, of warm thoughts of days gone by

that shall never come back

Home, the land that saw me grow

Home is the place where I no longer go

Home the heart of a family that was torn

Away to immigrate they all go

New land has now been reached

New life to be built; filled with hope

Strangers to make friends with

Neighbors to meet

New home my kids will know

And my memories will they not share

Their own they will create

My hope for them is that they too;

will have a place to call home,

with love, memories, and warmth.

Life goes on, Home is where the cat is

Someone said, "Home is where your heart

beats in happiness when you come back".

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Claudia Rodriguez

I am a nature loving person who finds the indoors quite suffocating after a while, I find inspiration in the beauty of a mountain, the flight of a bird or the soft swaying of a flower in the wind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.