Poets logo

Beautiful Liar

The Labyrinth

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
17
Beautiful Liar
Photo by Kier in Sight Archives on Unsplash

A Challenge by Randy Baker

*

I yearn to believe you, beautiful liar

when you give your assurance that I will survive

fanning the flames, desire's ethereal fire

love's sweet serenade, beckons me to your side

a monster created, held captive in your hands

an enigma castrated - the rarest of kinds

willed solely to fulfill your every command

a bewitched, stringless puppet treading delicate lines

your whispers as soft as crushed pristine velvet

my heart beats in unresponsive trance

caught in a Labyrinth, making me forget

as I recklessly cascade through your happenstance

surreal poetrylove poemsheartbreak
17

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming4 months ago

    Excellent entry, Kelli!

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Cascade the heck through those happenstance, love the power here. Take back your power. Heck, yeah.

  • Chloe Gilholy4 months ago

    Beautiful and intense

  • Suze Kay4 months ago

    You fit those words in with such ease! So impressive.

  • This was so poignantly beautiful! Loved your take on this challenge!

  • Grz Colm4 months ago

    Cut the strings! 😁 Nice work Kelli. I have always loved the word happenstance! ☺️

  • But not anymore. I know it's still painful, but 'tis better to have extricated yourself from such labyrinth. I continue to pray that better days are ahead for you, Kelli.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Beautiful piece. Well done, as always.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.