Poets logo

Beach

Song for a past love

By Walking TravestysPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Beach
Photo by Chris Galbraith on Unsplash

Click. Time freezes in a second as my finger lay,

lay on the button of my camera, looking,

looking through a tiny box as He smiles back at me.

I can see him laughing as the day goes by,

time wasted, film wasted, we're wasted on this beach.

Sharing his knowing smile we walk. Away, we walk, away, away.

He grins and takes my hand, leading me to who knows where,

where we can see all of New York's fine lights shining,

shining down on us making sure we look like royalty.

I can see him laughing as the day goes by,

time wasted, film wasted, we're wasted on this beach.

Sharing his knowing smile we walk. Away, we walk, away, away.

Too soon for this night to end, no more hooking up with his friends,

friends who know what we're feeling right now, in love.

In love we meet, in love we part, in love we will Succeed.

I can see him laughing as the day goes by,

time wasted, film wasted, we're wasted on this beach.

Sharing his knowing smile we walk. Away, we walk, away, away.

Click. I hear the snap of the camera, as the shutters close,

closing up the day, leaving just the way we came,

came so close to having something - or was it nothing?

love poems
1

About the Creator

Walking Travestys

Hello, I'm Sharon!

Enjoy poems from the past, and the present - all brought here for you! Thank you for reading, and thank you for being you! ❤️

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.