Poets logo

Be Yourself

Don't live a lie

By Sid Aaron HirjiPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Be Yourself
Photo by Noah Näf on Unsplash

Seems nothing ever goes right,

It not a wonder why I can’t sleep at night.

Feels like I have been shafted by every endeavour,

Even happy moments seem hard to treasure.

My insecurities haunt me day after day,

Troubles in my life never go away.

Hide my feelings in these times out of joint,

However often my emotions often disappoint.

I’m at wits end I don’t need any more stress,

But in the end all I can do is give it my best.

Problems may escalate but I can continue to fight,

After all every dark corner offers some light.

All I need is when times are tough

And when I feel as though I have had enough,

Is to reach out and look for support,

Somebody I have good rapport.

Not these banal two faced people who say platitudes,

Then behind my back scorn me and say I have a bad attitude.

I would rather be hated for who I am than loved for who I’m not,

Because sometimes our defining clarities are all we have got.

If hiding my identity is what I have to do,

How will I ever have any clue

To who I am and what I have to offer

As isn’t this world about helping each other?

Giving up now will just defeat any purpose,

Of aiding anybody in my situation who is just as nervous.

I may have to hide my identity to those who don’t matter,

But this I would do rather

Than live a lie.

social commentary

About the Creator

Sid Aaron Hirji

Canadian born man who finds literature and science equally fascinating. Trauma bleeds through generations, words heal the hidden scars.

youtube https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCS3WEyx5XeX-o8xRwG-cMlg

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Sid Aaron HirjiWritten by Sid Aaron Hirji

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.