Poets logo

Barcadia

Pink Satin and Arcade Bars

By sleepy draftsPublished 3 months ago β€’ 1 min read
14
Barcadia
Photo by William Topa on Unsplash

I'm falling over under barcade lights,

syrupy sweet Princess Peach running over my tongue

Mario Kart power-ups and drunk N64 heroes wear

drinks named after cartoon characters

spread across their bellies

as they zero in on flat screens from deep corners of

overstuffed couches.

Your mouth

zeroes in on mine,

pink and pouting:

you want to play too.

I don't know the rules to this game

or what the prize exactly is;

if the gift of your love only exists

within the shifting walls of Barcadia

or if your heart will follow me home too,

crash on my threadbare couch in the Sunday morning light

sip a coffee,

watch a re-run.

Do you only reserve that love for boys?

I know it's just a kiss

just a night

but these moments make up a lifetime

and I don't want to be a sloppy starry night

from a bright and blurry memory

in yours.

We are constellations worth studying on clear nights

backs against dewy grass,

ribcages stretched towards the moon,

fingers tracing poems in the palms of each other's hands.

You pass me a tequila shot one of the N64 heroes bought us

as two of them peer over dyed black beers named Bowser.

You take your shot, peck me on the mouth, and hop into your hero's lap.

At the end of the night, you swish your hips into a cab

Princess Peach grenadine on your gums

and smoke a cigarette out the open window.

I stumble home and watch re-runs from my threadbare couch,

maple coffee and sunlit morning promises

linger in the haze of a 4am

rising sun.

I dream of sober love in drunk hearts

dizzy with the desire to know one another

for more than a fleeting midnight

or dazzling high score,

to be more than an accessory plucked from a rainbow array of texture

when you only wear pink satin.

slam poetry
14

About the Creator

sleepy drafts

a sleepy writer named em :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Better to be forlorn & on your own than used for a night, tossed out & forgotten. Is it? I'm still trying to persuade myself.

  • This was so incredible! Maybe partially because of my love for video games, especially N64, and all the Mario games, but this was so unique. I’ve never read something like that, infusing s love poem with a video game scene. So good! I also loved the line β€œI dream of sober love in drunk hearts” which I read several times. What a scene you set!

  • Absolutely amazing poem! I particularly love, "I don't want to be a sloppy starry night / from a bright and blurry memory". Nice job!

  • M.3 months ago

    Amazing poem. I'm not a big fan of the "We are constellations / each other's hands." verse, in my humble opinion it doesn't really fit the barcadia theme. But the rest of the poem is filled with a sense of nostalgia-filled longing and it's definitely recognizable.

  • "but these moments make up a lifetime" This line hit me so hard because some people would never know or understand why we cherish a memory so much. Loved your poem!

  • Kimmiekins43 months ago

    β€œI dream of sober love in drunk hearts.” My fav line! This is amazing πŸ–€πŸ₯³

  • Hayley Matto3 months ago

    This a new fav!! Loved the Mario Cart characters and game play tie-ins. "We are constellations worth studying on clear nights" and "I dream of sober love in drunk hearts" were some of my favorite lines. Absolutely awesome work!! The drink names were super clever too. Loved it!!

  • Rachel M.J3 months ago

    HOW LOVELY. This line "We are constellations worth studying on clear nights" says so much, I have a thesis of thoughts just from that. Also the ending is beautifully rounded.

  • D. J. Reddall3 months ago

    Smooth, sweet and rich as one of the cocktails it describes!

  • Oneg In The Arctic3 months ago

    Ughhhh your poetry is so goood now I want to play too πŸ˜‚ AND THIS LINE UGH β€œand I don't want to be a sloppy starry night” so perfectly fit

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.