Poets logo

Balloons and a parade and shit

On passing a nominal landmark

By Hannah MoorePublished 3 days ago 3 min read
Balloons and a parade and shit
Photo by Adi Goldstein on Unsplash

They say things happen when you're not looking for them. Falling in love, making a new friend, finding a new opportunity, conceiving a baby. It's not been my experience, in general. Indeed generally I have found that when I am looking for nothing, that is what I get, but this week, while I was busy not looking for it, I crossed that golden threshold of 5000 Vocal reads. Why this is the golden threshold I do not know, only I remember quite some time ago a rash of people I had subscribed to all posting this landmark at a similar time, and thinking how utterly unlikely 5000 reads seemed for me.

But here I am! 5011 to be precise. An average of 4.45 per day of my Vocal membership. Or it was until you read this. Though there's still time to stop, I would encourage you to finish, I have no attachment to the number 5011, I was just reporting it for the sake of accuracy, which it transpires I have intermittent attachment to. I don't know when I crossed the threshold, maybe yesterday, maybe last week, but I felt immediately entitled to write a brief self-congratulatory missive on the subject on discovering it in the rear view mirror.

Or I did until I sat down to do so and the muses led me to the poem that follows. I must apologise in advance for this, I have had a recent density of poor nights more usually experienced by the parents of new-borns and perhaps it is lending me an affinity to the gloom. Now I have squandered the opportunity to be upbeat and make expressions of gratitude and appreciation and indulged myself instead in a bemoanment of the necessities of balance to ensure a swarthier health than a life on my arse and in my head is like to offer. Though not without foundation, please rest assured that I rather favour variety in reality, and this is a more appropriate reflection on my post-graduate studies than my Vocal usage. So before you read my "celebratory" poem, please know that I do genuinely thank you so much for the community I have found here. I am not a confident person, and it is possible that you do not realise what many of your comments on my stories have meant to me. I walk a little taller for your words.

Sometimes. Again, for the sake of accuracy, sometimes I walk a little taller and sometimes I continue to feel like someone should be kind enough to stop me before I embarrass myself. But a little taller sometimes is a big deal for a perennial stooper.

And now to the party. This poem I shall entitle "5000 reads and what have I got to show for it?".

5000 reads and what have I got to show for it?

First it was the obvious

Tendons on the backs of my hands,

Strung between phalanges and through the carpal tunnel

And on, along the ulna,

Until the elbow began to wince,

Convinced it held a racket, or a club

And not the weight of five fervent fingers.

And thumbs, though they only marked the spaces.

Next the muscles of the back

Gave up on the spine,

Which bent under the successive weight of not good enough,

Curving over the belly that cramped and slept and cramped again,

A peristaltic floundering

Hoarding toxicity and calling it succour.

Perhaps, if I had paused to stretch,

My legs would not have wasted,

And my serotonin slathered gut may have gone on working

As it should.

Last, the brain, an after thought,

Winced and cramped, and wasted

And left me wrecked upon the rocks,

Still thirsting for the treasure

I hoped so much to find.

art

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (10)

  • Cathy holmes23 minutes ago

    You deserve every read because you're fantastic. Congrats on the 5k. Onward to 10!

  • Phil Flanneryabout 7 hours ago

    I hope you sought medical help. Congratulations on the milestone.

  • L.C. Schäfera day ago

    Well done, that's amazing! I love "a peristaltic floundering" 😁 Peristalsis is one of my favourite words, and not used often enough in poetry IMO.

  • Kodah2 days ago

    I'm so proud of you Hannah, congratulations on your huge millstone!! You deserve have read you have earned! 💌🥰🥳🎉

  • Hey whenever you feel not confident with yourself or your writing, just go to your profile and take a look at your achievements. Tbh, sometimes when I feel down, I go to your profile and look at your achievements because it encourages me so much. You're my role model and I look to you. Congratulations on hitting 5000 reads! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • Rachel Deeming3 days ago

    You're a fabulous writer. Believe it. You don't need 5000 reads to tell you that although they're nice. Congratulations on the milestone and stand tall, straight back and head high.

  • Caroline Craven3 days ago

    That’s a cracking milestone Hannah. I thoroughly reading your work - it’s a good day when a story alert comes through for Hannah Moore! I’m glad you’re celebrating this… if we don’t ever feel proud of our accomplishments and achievements, then what’s the point? I’m not saying that anyone should become a braggart but hey! Great article and happy 4th July from a swampy and humid D.C.!

  • Paul Stewart3 days ago

    Congratulations, Hannah! I'm proud to have got to know you through your writing and seeing your confidence build with each thing you've done. And I will always fight the Hannah Moore corner. I love and enjoy everything, without sounding too much like a repeat of Mr Cox, you have written and equally our exchanges in these comments sections. And I am a big believer in celebrating the achievements. I don't really care how trivial they might be - they are important because they are. This poe, was brilliant and I love the fact, and have said this before, that you are honest. Like honest about the good and the bad. Which I appreciate in our exchanges, comments on my work and through your own work. Well done on this and the achievement and you should stand a little taller, because I think you're a great writer and would pay money to read stuff you write. There, I think I've exhausted this comment space lol.

  • John Cox3 days ago

    Congratulations on 5,000 reads, Hannah! I have enjoyed everything that I have read by you so I hope that helps!

  • D.K. Shepard3 days ago

    Congrats on reaching such a milestone! Woohoo!🎉 5,000 reads is so many!! Well done, Hannah! Loved the poem!! All the aches and pains and the endless hunt!

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.