Poets logo

On Receipt of Bad News

For the dialogue poetry challenge

By Hannah MoorePublished 3 days ago 1 min read
On Receipt of Bad News
Photo by Avery Thomas on Unsplash

I’m so sorry darling.

Did we have rain today?

Did she say how it happened?

No, she didn’t say.

You must be devastated.

The garden looks quite dry.

It’s such a shock for everyone.

Oh goodness, don’t you cry.

When did we last visit him?

Will it rain tonight?

I remember there were bluebells out.

The forecast says it might.

Do you remember how we laughed?

Could you pass the butter?

That article you read aloud?

Can’t reach past all this clutter.

I can’t believe he’s really gone.

This meat is very tough.

I’m sorry, I’m just…. Quite upset.

I think I’ve had enough.

Will there be a funeral?

We’ll find out from his daughter.

I’ll have to get your jacket pressed.

The garden needs some water.

Oh sod the plants, at times like this!

You’d let the garden die?

It will be fine for just one night!

With temperatures so high?

Do you even feel at all?

Some rain is what it needs.

You care for flowers more than him!

I grew them from his seeds.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (13)

  • The Invisible Writerabout 9 hours ago

    That last line was haunting. I kept imagining an old couple at dinner reading this where their both only half listening to each other

  • Babs Iverson2 days ago

    Lovely!!! Loved it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Caroline Craven2 days ago

    I feel like this is the exact sort of conversation my mum and dad have. We all handle grief and our emotions differently. This was excellent.

  • Paul Stewart2 days ago

    Outstanding...so sad...so genuine, authentic and just real. But, written with your skilled flourish. That last line...just works so well to tie it all together. Just...yeah...I imagine seeing this in the winner's circle. Well done, Hannah.

  • Novel Allen2 days ago

    The last line indicates 'don't judge a book by its cover'. The reasons why people do things are not always clear to us. It goes deeper.

  • D.K. Shepard2 days ago

    Very, very well done! This felt like a familiar and authentic dynamic in the sense of there being a verbal processor and an internal processor each on their own trajectory for dealing with grief

  • Excellent dialogue showing different ways of coping with grief… or not. Loved the rhyme.

  • Oh my, no wonder the plants were so important 🥺 I didn't see that coming, it hit me so hard. Loved your poem!

  • Andrea Corwin 3 days ago

    Oh the flowers - his flower seeds, their way of caring. Lovely. 🫶🏻🫶🏻

  • Sweileh 8883 days ago

    Thank you for the interesting and delicious content. Follow my story now.

  • Caroline Jane3 days ago

    You positively tapped into a quintessential grief reality with this poem. Great work. I could relate whole heartedly!

  • John Cox3 days ago

    Grieving is different for everyone. This feels authentic. Two people having two separate conversations together. I loved it!

  • I love this playful dialogue on such a sad topic 🫣

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.