Poets logo

Back to You

A Short Poem About Distant Love

By Adebayo DawoduPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like
Lonely Ship

It hurts me that she's still hurting

Pains me that she's still healing

I'm moving on and she's still waiting

I took the whole of me

Decided to leave the piece behind

But she's waiting for that piece to bind for peace of mind

It's funny how time will pass, stars collide

And we will still miss each other

But only I will remember where things left off

How this has been, how things can be if she let it

In rain, her thoughts crawl on me

But wait, she's far from me

Many times, her face keeps me up, and I be staring

I'm steering pass goodbyes to leap in time

Where we say, hello!!!

Hello again my friend, I've traveled far and wide

And back again, so... would you like to hear my stories?

Because this time, I honestly wish you'll come with me

I promised I'll wait for you

Though It's hard for me to just stand still

But then it seems

I'm always returning back to you...

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Adebayo Dawodu

Nerdy with a creative edge.

Co-cofounder at tiphub, a mentorship driven accelerator and social impact ventures

Over 10 years of experience in technology and strategy consulting.

A published photographer and creative explorer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.