Poets logo

Baby-Face

A poem about looking too young

By R.O.A.R.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Baby-Face
Photo by Séan Gorman on Unsplash

I hate the term “baby face.”

Mostly because I have one.

I hate that I am treated as lesser simply because

I am perceived as younger.

“Oh, sweetie, you’ll love it when you’re older.”

Don’t call me sweetie.

“Are you ready for Santa, honey?”

I am twenty-four years old.

Don’t call me honey!

Don’t tell me to lighten up, either!

Don’t tell me to allow other people

To steam roll my words simply because ‘I’m so precious.’

I am not precious! I am an adult!

A drinking, smoking, cursing, spitting, voting, sex-life-having,

tax-paying, car-driving, Dr.’s-appointment-making,

sit-at-home-do-nothing adult!

Look at me adulting all over the place!

I have been in a strip club and followed by bouncers.

As if I would pull out the wrong ID at any moment.

I have been quizzed on my driver’s license.

Twice.

The address is wrong. The weight is wrong.

But, I have blue eyes, brown hair, and a little red heart

That says I’m an organ donor.

Call me cute when I’m mad one more time

And those won’t be my organs getting donated!

I suppose, maybe, perhaps

When I am fifty and sixty

And everyone else is a wrinkly sagging mess,

I’ll appreciate the youthful glow in my face.

The absolute resistance to time seems to hold.

People would be asking if I’m the parent

Even though I’m the grandparent.

That would be fun.

But I’m not fifty.

I’m not sixty.

I’m twenty-eight.

Stop looking at my license,

Pour me another shot,

Don’t call me sweetie,

And stop talking about my baby face.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

R.O.A.R.

High school English teacher who enjoys writing as a hobby. I do hope to get published one day, but for now I'm just having fun and hoping to learn some new tricks.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.