Poets logo

away from my heart

a poem about missing someone

By Nagoh Creative (Greg)Published about a month ago 1 min read
Photography by Author - Nagoh Creative

each day passes slower than time

each dream places your hand in mine

each whisper is soft but ever so clear

each day long, but closer to near

each minute waisted

each second gone

I have been away from my heart much too long

I still feel its heartbeat, but it's not the same

distance is all I have left to blame

slowly but surely I'll have it again

but until then, I'm empty within.

...

The poem above I wrote on April 7th, 1999. Exploring poetry from my younger years and now putting it out there is turning into a fun experience. I have also associated photography from my collection with them. I picked the picture above of a lone red leaf that had fallen to the ground and was lying among leaves of green. The contrast of being singled out struck me.

Authors Note: Thanks for reading, commenting, and sharing. My writing is a part of my healing process. I am a broken spirit, a fallen sinner, but I am a forgiven child of God. That is why I share my vulnerable heart with all. Thank you for your support.

Ode

About the Creator

Nagoh Creative (Greg)

Writer, Poet, Astronomer, Photographer & Encourager. I am on a road of life recovery and sharing my journey with words and art. Most importantly, I am a forgiven Child of God, Husband, Father, & friend. All work is my own, & God's Glory.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Nagoh Creative (Greg)Written by Nagoh Creative (Greg)

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.