Poets logo

Autumnal Scents

Aromatic Poem, inspired by a suggestion made by Brin. J.

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago 2 min read
Autumnal Scents
Photo by Mitchell McCleary on Unsplash

Autumn,

the season of change, of transition,

is one of decomposition

and a strange, mysterious and intoxicating concoction of satisfying and dramatic odours.

The scent of burnt wood and ash in the air

the way it clings to your clothes, skin and hair

the rotting pungent scent of the dying Jack-O-Lanterns that have been left on the doorsteps creating a strangely comforting autumnal bouquet of perfumed decay sweetened by the apples that have fallen from the trees, discarded and left to slowly turn rancid, avoiding the violent end of waterboarding and being eaten alive or being burned alive and covered in a sickly sweet glass-like embalming fluid before facing the same end as their waterboarded bretherin.

For a season of change, a season of inevitable, scheduled death and waste, there is a delightful, earthy and spicy aroma to the autumn, one that will disappear in due time and gradually diminish as the temperature drops and the detoxification, and self sanitation begins during winter.

Until then, enjoy revelling in the sobering, relaxing and heady nose of cinnamon, firewood, ash, moulding fruit, dead leaves and gunpowder.

Walk through the woods and savour the oddly calming and natural stench of the world around you recycling and refreshing itself.

Inhale all the wonderful smells, the sweet and the spicy, the aromatic and the putrid.

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This piece was inspired by a suggestion made by the wonderful Brin. J in the comments section of my poem Spitting Feathers, which you can read by following this link:

In the words of the woman herself:

"I'm curious Paul, if you could write a poem on the subject of scents? It could be dark, like the smell of smoke, or beautiful, like the smell of lavender. A thing that evokes some type of response, so we can all imagine breathing it in and sharing the emotion as we follow along.

I'd love to read it."

Hope you enjoy it, Brin and everyone else. I really tried on the scents thing...might do another take a different time, but I'm happy with it for now. Please be sure to check out Brin's writing, as she is exceptionally talented:

Here are a few other pieces you might like:

You can also look at my profile for more right here.

performance poetrysurreal poetrysocial commentarynature poetrylove poemsinspirational

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

  • Sara Wilson8 months ago

    Autumn is my absolute favorite and I love this poem and the picture you chose. Beautiful. All of it.

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Wow! What an incredible piece, Pal! I smelled every word- such a sensory experience! Brilliant job! I love this! Going to breathe it in again. 👃🏼✨💫💞👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

  • I "scents" a story worthy of a Top Story here, Paul. Way to meet the challenge.

  • autumnal bouquet of perfumed decay… A beautiful line! (Amongst many) This perfectly fits the brief given, nice work! ✨🤍

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    Paul! I love it!!! I knew you'd hit the mark🤗 I found myself inhaling a few times as I could actually smell the crispness of Autumn's air. This was so well done. A mixture of romantic and melancholic. "For a season of change, a season of inevitable, scheduled death and waste, there is a delightful, earthy and spicy aroma to the autumn" was my favorite part. I appreciate you fulfilling my request and writing this🥹. It's a beautiful creation, my soul is happy

  • Test8 months ago

    Loved the cynicism in this! I don't much get Halloween. All seeps like a lot of random fuss...but then I feel similarly about Christmas, except that's not quite as random 🤍

  • At first I was like wth is an aromatic poem. It was answered by your poem itself. Loved your fragrant poem!

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    This is an intriguing piece! “savour the oddly calming and natural stench of the world”.. I don’t know if I was supposed to laugh at that line, but I found it humorous! 😅

  • Zara Blume8 months ago

    Oh you have a gift! I could smell the surprisingly pleasant decay. Everyone talks about the visual beauty of autumn. This was my first time reading the aromas described so poetically.

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    This poem reminded me of the smell of cedar. Lovely!

  • Rene Peters8 months ago

    I love the description! Walking in the woods in the autumn is my favorite

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.