Poets logo

the fight with a tree

ptsd ... and the fight with a tree

By Josh ClementsPublished 2 days ago β€’ 1 min read

Do not be angry at the tree,

for when its branch falls

on thee.

____________

But when I am hit,

struck violently,

so my axe does fall,

heavily,

straight through that fucking tree.

____________

Bulls strike Barrera;

that dark engulfing fence β€”

my red hands apuntillar.

They face me down,

I know, I never should be.

____________

I float off

damn that fight

and that lying Bodhisattva.

But I am not sorry for swearing.

I see the stumps miles below,

the cold space takes me;

if only I could have made peace,

a truce,

with a harmless honest tree.

nature poetrysurreal poetrysad poetryMental Health

About the Creator

Josh Clements

trying to write when my health allows. fatal bus crash survivor. spinal disability. adhd. ptsd.

scribbles with a tear and a smile πŸ₯²

twitter: @joshclements89

threads: @joshuaclements89

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dawnxisoul393art2 days ago

    The final lines convey a sense of regret and longing for peace, with the speaker wishing they could have found a truce with the innocent tree, thank you very much for sharing, love your works, hope to read more, subscribed.

Josh ClementsWritten by Josh Clements

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.