Poets logo

Asteroid

As Fast

By Cory BuchananPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

where the stars flicker

I heard there was debris sent from thousands

of lightyears away flying a split second

into their light

watching open-mindedly strolling

in heavy grass I smell this zephyr

dancing wildly and sporadically

here on the teeming prairies

meteors are a signature of the night

in fragrant blooming aster

listening to the faint crickets

falling to the lumpy ground

lying down to reckon the next flash

but shut my eyes to dream it anyway

there is something about summertime

that keeps the cosmos indigo

all throughout the tilt of earth

revolving a bright shade into my eyes

look at me rambling on so captivated

enamored really by how chiffon

could flutter away and day would shine

my brother and father call me

into the car to drive back to the city

and the cool air is breathtaking

fog from my lungs blows through

this cold front rolling clouds over us

but in that minute of just being myself

mentored by the sky's depth

I saw each of my thoughts billow

and vanish as fast as an asteroid

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.