Poets logo

Assumed Identity

Unexpected gifts

By Denise DavisPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - January 2024
The night the Browns clutched a play-off spot

It lay on the hotel bed -

a hoodie gifted at Christmas.

With one sleeve white, one sleeve black,

its brown letters

- outlined in orange on the grey front -

exclaimed its team:

Cleveland Browns.

Must I? I wondered, must I

assume an identity not true to me?

A Browns fan?

An NFL supporter?

A possible Trump voter -

given the many signs I saw

planted in wintering fields on our way?

I cringed, but for him -

I glanced at the curly haired boy

a few feet away -

For him - anything!

Hours later,

seated under the steel beams of an upper tier,

indistinguishable from 67,900 other people -

all adorned in combos of orange, and brown, and white too -

I rose for the national anthem.

And then remained as such

for the kickoff of the game.

A game, you know, of little importance,

to anyone but a Cleveland fan.

A year from now, maybe just a month,

I knew, - especially if they lost -

any significance would be forgotten by all

but those who wear such shirts.

And yet,

as the music pounded a steady beat,

and the QB powered them up the field,

and fans responded in return,

Shouting out,

"Here we go, Brownies, here we go!"

“Woof, woof!” I joined in,

swaying with the crowd.

And then, not even after four minutes had passed by -

when Joe Flacco threw the ball to running back Jerome Ford

who dove past would-be tacklers

and reached across the pylon for a touchdown -

It happened.

All arms shot up - mine too -

and gloved and padded hands began

aiming for each other.

I hit my husband’s, my son’s, my grandson’s,

and then the man in front of me

aimed for mine, and so I hit his,

and then, so, too, his friend’s,

and when I turned ever so slightly,

the young teen girl behind me,

grabbed my mittened paw and shook it,

passionately,

claiming me for one of her own.

And I was.

For three hours more,

even as we - a single wave of brown, of orange and

a little white - flowed from the field and onto the streets,

communal joy abounded.

And then,

near midnight,

as I removed the shirt,

I would rather have not worn,

I couldn’t help but grieve

my loss.

No longer would others

see only themselves in me.

Defined by taste, by style

by preference,

once again,

others would see me as

I think

I want to be seen.

Free Verse

About the Creator

Denise Davis

A Manhattan-toasted, Kentucky marinated, Southern Californian, this 60+ year old woman has studied writing, taught writing and admired writing. It's time to actually begin writing. We shall see how this goes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Test6 months ago

    Stellar effort! Keep up the extraordinary work—congratulations!

  • Daphsam6 months ago

    Well done, congratulations on top story. 

  • Patricgamer6 months ago

    Great story

  • Adam 6 months ago

    Beautifully written!!! Congratulations on Top Story!!!❤️❤️

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Congrats on making top story!

  • L.C. Schäfer6 months ago

    There's a beautiful community in sport I think, and you've nailed it here so well 😁

  • So much of excitement here! Loved your poem!

Denise DavisWritten by Denise Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.