Poets logo

Why am I not enough...

for you to stop

By Denise DavisPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
Why am I not enough...
Photo by Vinicius "amnx" Amano on Unsplash

“Why am I not enough?”

I once wondered,

as my father demanded another.

“Why am I not enough

to make you stop drinking?”

Answers poured in:

It’s an addiction.

He can’t help it.

You have nothing to do with it.

“Why is she not enough,”

I now long to ask my brother,

“your teen whose sad eyes haunt me?”

“Why is she not enough

to make you stop drinking?”

The same answers pour in.

It's an addiction, I know, you can't help it.

And yet, this, too, I know:

She has everything to do with it;

It’s her life you hurt.

sad poetry

About the Creator

Denise Davis

A Manhattan-toasted, Kentucky marinated, Southern Californian, this 60+ year old woman has studied writing, taught writing and admired writing. It's time to actually begin writing. We shall see how this goes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    This was so heartbreaking. Loved your poignant poem!

Denise DavisWritten by Denise Davis

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.