Poets logo

A conversation with death

A poem

By M.SPublished 3 days ago 3 min read
A conversation with death
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

This is a poem inspired by my long fear of death and how I've come to realize that death isn't a bad thing and how we're all going to die one day.

Each stanza is a haiku (even though I break the rule of no rhyming) the first person to speak is a person, the second is death and they alternate.

Dread of your dark veil

Cold as winter's ruthless wail

To live, I prevail

I'm not here to fight

Merely end the endless night

A whisper of light

Your touch is a thief

Stealing one's breath with no grief

Who's the evil? Me?

Not theft, but a guide

No evil, nor you or I.

One's breath is now more

Your shroud chills my soul

Dreams drown is a blackened world

Where nothing will show

Yet, I bear no spite,

Soft as moon's embrace at night,

To dim fears in flight.

I crave morning's dew,

Not the gloom your wings show true,

Life, fresh as the new.

I’m a dawn in dusk,

Rest in peace, a fragrant musk,

Trust, in death's soft husk.

Yet, I can’t concede,

Life's passion, a growing seed,

I yearn, ache, and bleed.

In time, you'll soon see.

Life and death, we still both need

To end our journey

Yet I need life's song

Each note is where I belong

I still hold it strong

I’m not here to take,

But to ease the burdens' ache,

To let sorrows break.

My heart, still alive

With love's fire, I survive

My joy, you deprive

Yet, embrace my peace,

In my arms, your worries cease,

Let your soul release.

I fear the unknown,

In your realm, I'm all alone,

Lost, cold as a stone.

Yet, I’m always near,

To guide you through shadows, dear,

No need for the fear.

Does hope still exist?

In your grasp, does light exist?

Or fade into mist?

Perhaps I will see

Still not sure, so quietly

I ask myself why.

In death, life’s embrace,

A tender, eternal grace,

Peace, time can't erase.

I still have those doubts

Maybe you've killed my distaste

Just an end to pain

Trust, I’m not your foe,

In my care, love’s embers glow,

With me, gently flow.

So, I’ll let you near,

Though my heart still clings to here.

I love, know these tears

Together, we’ll soar,

Beyond life's burdens and war,

To where hearts explore.

Shall I trust your touch?

Silent, soothing, speaks so much,

With you, time is such.

The choice is for you

No one dictates what to do

Still, trust is still due

Am I doomed to die?

No matter what I can try?

If I trust or lie?

You still love this life.

You hold on to the seconds.

That's fine all to me.

I still do indeed

I don't want to die, but need

Life is cruel please

You'll die either way

Your lucky it's not painful

Just accept my touch

Where am I after?

Eternal pain or nothing?

Love and hate, just gone?

What goes after is you

What you believe, what you see

Nothing else, believe

I accept your touch

But I'm scared to do so now.

What if I'm still scared?

It's okay to be.

Let go of life, dance with me

Under the sky, you'll see

See what I shall ask?

Everything fading black?

Or a light that shows?

Again it's for you.

To decide what you believe.

Nothing is for me.

So shall I trust you?

Shall this world fade into me?

Shall I take you in?

Yes, we drift, we dance,

In my calm, a second chance,

Life’s eternal trance.

nature poetryinspirationalHaiku

About the Creator

M.S

Author writing abut health, math, self-improvement, tech & philosophy from a student and learner's perspective. Easy to understand articles written clearly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Esala Gunathilake2 days ago

    A nice poem.

MWritten by M.S

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.