Poets logo

Artificial Intrigue

A Parasocial Poetic Parody of Shakespeare's Sonnet 130

By D. J. ReddallPublished 6 months ago 1 min read

My mistress’ eyes are nothing like the Sun

Microsystems simulacra of eyes

She was made to supply synthetic fun

To pretend to have lips, likes, cries and thighs

Snow has real qualities; her breasts have none

If hairs be wires, her wires are hairs

I have seen roses; this, she has not done

Made of mere code is she, and no one dares

To explain how she seems real but is not

I love to hear her speak, with others’ words

Large language models can be scorching hot

Songs she can sing, though she cannot hear birds

Though she’s a fiction, for her I can care

Which shows that, real, I unreal love can bear

Sonnet

About the Creator

D. J. Reddall

I write because my time is limited and my imagination is not.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran6 months ago

    Omgggg, I loved this so much! Also, it's a long shot but have you heard Taylor Swift's song, Is It Over Now? This line of yours, "To pretend to have lips, likes, cries and thighs", reminded me of this line, "Only rumours of my hips and thighs", from that song!

  • Hannah Moore6 months ago

    Oh, that last couple of lines are so interesting to consider, and well rendered too.

  • Manisha Dhalani6 months ago

    Is this the futureee? Good one!

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    Just brilliant! I laughed so hard at this!

D. J. ReddallWritten by D. J. Reddall

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.