Poets logo

Armor

A Poem

By Atomic HistorianPublished 4 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
6
Armor
Photo by Nik Shuliahin 💛💙 on Unsplash

As I climbed inside of you

You I thought I became harmless

I took up arms

Against all that would do me harm

I fought every battle I could

Inside of you I hide from the world

Little did I know

You were doing more harm than good

As you chafed my skin under your heat and weight

I learned I could not win

The longer I stayed

The more I drew closer to my fate

To die in you

If I did not learn to escape from you

To risk exposure to the world

As I took you off

The more my skin peeled with each shell

As they fell to the ground

Oh god the smell

My rotting flesh exposed to the world

An unquenchable stench

A body no wench would touch

A grotesque monster is all I’ve become

Hidden away from years of fear

Fear of being vulnerable

Of imagined wounds

Never seeing the self-inflicted wounds from staying in you too long

I was wrong

You weren’t my protector

You were my prison

Thank you for reading my work. If you enjoyed this story, there’s more below. Please hit the like and subscribe button, you can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram @AtomicHistorian. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

More from this author:

vintageVillanellesurreal poetryStream of ConsciousnessSonnetSong Lyricssocial commentaryslam poetrySestinaSenryusad poetryRequest FeedbackProseperformance poetryPantoumOdenature poetryMental Healthlove poemslistLimerickinspirationalhumorhow toHolidayheartbreakHaikuGratitudeFriendshipFree VerseFor FunFirst DraftFilthyFamilyfact or fictionexcerptsElegyEkphrasticCinquainchildrens poetrycelebritiesbuyers guidebook reviewsBlackoutBalladartAcrostic
6

About the Creator

Atomic Historian

Heavily irradiated historian developing my writing career. You can follow me on Facebook, Twitter, & Instagram. To help me create more content, leave a tip or become a pledged subscriber. I also make stickers, t-shirts, etc here.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • sleepy drafts4 months ago

    Wow! This is incredible.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    So vividly descriptive. Excellent piece.

  • And how comfortable we so oft feel, sitting in our own cell.

  • Kendall Defoe 4 months ago

    All weapons can aim in the wrong direction... I really like this one, AH!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.