Poets logo

Arguing A Deadly Debate

xx

By Marc OBrienPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Lithuanian/American Living Author Marc O'Brien

If I left, I would be right

To walk away from this desperate fight

That blows in the wind like a Ben Franklin kite

Looking for a key

Lighting a bulb for everyone to see

Down the center line

Understanding what is yours and what is mine

In this world that is not being truly kind

What is war?

I inquire quietly shutting the door

Removing myself from the debatable argument floor

Sounding important yet rotten to the core

It is a conflict between two

Who are in a feud

Actions displayed sickening and rude

It is why we must defend

The use of the magical pen

Putting down thoughts

Explaining reasoning that we much sought

Then coming to a complete halt

Pulling the reigns

On this deadly game

Where we force people around

Tell them to leave their hometown

Since things as they say ‘are going down’

As I complete this ballad or song

I must ask, If I left, would I be wrong

Reflecting upon the night I romantically propose

To one I lusted for with a rose

And created hatred with my unknown foes

Sitting on the neighbor’s farmhouse porch

Igniting the soothing smoking torch

A banging sound rings out

Overpowering their rhetoric shout

Now I find myself bleeding

From this angry meeting

Falling to the wooden stage

I realized I was not going to see my maturing age

Due to a single act

Telling my inner soul, it must pack

Leave this human earth

For what it is worth

Slowly I march to the glowing white

Blinding my sight

Until I met a judgmental fellow

Sitting very mellow

Encircled in yellow

“What happened here?

I was asked, friend come over have a beer”

Then coming from out of nowhere

Like it was dared

Tempers flared

No one really cared

One thing was said

Suddenly I am dead

“Yes, my son

Your life is done

Just because you wanted a night of fun

You see the enemy won

Now come”

And I followed him

We both went in

To this heavenly setting

Signs announcing there was a wedding

Between two

Who both recited ‘I do’

And ‘I love you’

There a young lady was

I no longer felt that alcohol buzz

A person who I once knew

And was going to say ‘I do’

But you see there was this feud

Before I was able to say ‘I love you’

Shouts were heard throughout the town

Neighbors knew something was going down.

I buried this horrific tragedy in my mind

Only to find

Same thing happened here

After I was asked to have a simple beer

My love dressed innocently in white

Holding a Ben Franklin kite

Attached was a key

Unlocking the door and the question, “I thought you wanted me’

I told her no lie

“That is true if you didn’t die”

She smiled hearing the truth

From the result when strangers hit the roof

‘I cut a deal

Wanting this wound to heal

Confirming our feelings over a bread and wine meal”

We hold hands once again

You with your lovely looks and I with my magical pen

heartbreak

About the Creator

Marc OBrien

Barry University graduate Marc O'Brien has returned to Florida after a 17 year author residency in Las Vegas. He will continue using fiction as a way to distribute information. Books include "The Final Fence: Sophomores In The Saddle"

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Marc OBrienWritten by Marc OBrien

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.