Poets logo

...anymore

spoken word with audio

By Amanda "PrttyBrd" StephensPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
...anymore
Photo by Kleiton Silva on Unsplash

I don't miss you anymore

the shadows are so engulfing

that all I can do is

throw words at them by the thousands

and try to break free...maybe

maybe

my words will crack the sun open

maybe

I can pick them up off the floor

and dry my tears

I can pretend that

the shadows don't follow me

that they're not there as I walk on a sunny afternoon

with my eyes open

watching the rest of the world smile

I'm tired of pretending

that I don't miss you

I don't miss the way you touched me

while I was sleeping

the way your fingers

would push my hair over my ear

so you could watch my face

I don't miss you

I sit in silence

listening to the

sounds you used to make

when you would make coffee before

I would get up

I miss the smell of you on my sheets

but it's been so long

that I don't even know

what it is that I'm missing

I miss that smile

that haunts my dreams

because it's the only place

that I know what happiness feels like

...felt like

but I go through every motion of every day

with a smile on my face

hoping that one day...

...that one day

if I paint it on hard enough

it will stick

so again

I throw words at the world

and I paint pictures that I can't possibly

convey in the depth of which

they are stabbing me

but if I pull the words out of my veins

where you left them...empty

it might kill me

I might bleed them all at once

with no way to stop them

your hand over my heart

healed everything

temporarily

and now

I am diseased flesh

with holes where feelings should be

I am the smell

of lies and perfidy

I am

everything I hate

about you

so I can't miss you

if I miss the way you hurt me

I'll never be whole

if I miss the gaping wounds you left

when you pulled your love

out of my skin

what does that say about me

so I don't miss you

I don't miss you

it's not in the ink I bleed with

it's not in the images in my head

it's not in my own reflection

I don't miss you

...anymore

010720

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Amanda "PrttyBrd" Stephens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.