Poets logo

mohagany ocean sunrise with nothing to prove

Spoken word poem with audio

By Amanda "PrttyBrd" StephensPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
mohagany ocean sunrise with nothing to prove
Photo by Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

your words run up my thigh, thirsty

imbibing cocktails through my skin

ink swirls in perfectly penned paintings

while I draw watercolors with brackish water

riding the turns of phrases that tease a heart

I trip into the reality of images imagined

I found you watching my beautiful mess

falling through my smile, I caught your blue with mahogany

****

you licked my lips

and left blank pages in your wake

overrun, rundown, and tired of learning masonry to build with legos

I long for the feeling of wet sand between my toes

claim me before I step into the waves

or wash it all away with a truth you'll never speak

write sonnets with my curls and

paint murals with pieces of us that form on my brow

****

I think of you in midnight holidays behind champagne wishes

poured in sparkling grape juice cocktails

I could lose myself in a bottle or two

but I haven't found myself outside of mahogany blues

pastel daydreams left on sunrise winter yesterdays

I still feel you in words you painted on skin

but I can't hear your voice on the ocean

and I can't smile through the sonnets tangled in my hair

****

Your words run up my thigh, thirsty

and leave blank pages in their wake

but interesting knows better than to leave a paper trail

122419

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Amanda "PrttyBrd" Stephens

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.