Poets logo

Another Time

By Shimica Leng

By Shimica May LengPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
3
Another Time
Photo by Róbert Toman on Unsplash

I wasn’t ready to let you go,

I still have love with no home.

You said you wouldn’t abandon me,

But ghosts are all I see.

I felt you slipping before that day,

No matter what I tried to do you didn’t seem to stay.

My unspent love has become the glue of my heart,

To stick the pieces together that have torn apart.

You said you would never love another the way you loved me,

Yet you just want me to let you be.

I know you need to find your song,

But it’s hard to say goodbye to the one you held so close for so long.

Maybe this is best,

Better for you, better for me.

But I can’t help feeling empty.

To mourn the one you used to know,

The tears, they come and go.

I hope one day our souls will align,

Maybe if we just met in another lifetime.

I wish you well my dear friend,

My care for you I will always lend.

sad poetrylove poemsheartbreakFriendship
3

About the Creator

Shimica May Leng

" 𝙲𝚎𝚕𝚕𝚊𝚛 𝙳𝚘𝚘𝚛 "

https://www.instagram.com/shimicamay

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    "I still have love with no home." - this line. So relatable!

  • GOOD POEM

  • Test5 months ago

    Another great poem

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.