Poets logo

Another Dash, Cash and Splash

Fools for jewels.

By Kelly A CurranPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Johnny and I are cruising on a yacht

We look like we belong but we do not

We’ve been chasing treasure since we first met

The thrill keeps us going and we haven’t lost yet

Now we’ve escalated to a dangerous new height

Moving among some criminals on a starry night

Below the deck is a safe filled with jewels

I have the combination and Johnny has the tools

The ship set sail before the job was done

Our plan is to lay low and avoid everyone

There’s a party going on with lots of excess

If I didn’t know better I’d be very impressed

There are rooms filled with laughter and bands play

As I sit and watch the action, I get carried away

I’m transported back to times Johnny and I dance

We come together whenever we get a chance

Our bodies meld to become perfectly one

Everything fades into the background of our fun

A tug on my arm brings me out of my fantasy

Johnny nods towards the bar so we’ll join the revelry

Our plan changed with two glasses of champagne

We’re now mingling, playing a cat and mouse game

Mixing in while waiting to get out on the deck

Taking our chances here is making me a wreck

We weave through the crowd and slip out the door

No one notices as we crouch near the floor

Johnny is going down to finish what we started

It will be a flash if he follows what we charted

I’m on the lookout but someone grabs me

The next thing I know I’m tossed into the sea

The water is warm but gives me a shock

As I sputter to the surface I grab a floating block

I see the yacht motoring away and I’m left behind

The water and sky become indistinguishable in my mind

I’m in the middle of the ocean and can’t see the shore

After floating for hours I can’t take much more

Everything in the water makes me want to scream

My mind starts to play tricks like I’m in a dream

I see Johnny’s handsome face hovering above

I feel comforted thinking about him and his love

As the sun rises I’ve perfected the deadman’s float

When I look up, out on the horizon, I see a boat

It doesn’t seem real after surviving the night

But the boat turns my way so I see the light

I’m able to wave and but have no energy to swim

As the boat gets closer I think I see him

But is this real or just a figment of my imagination

I can’t hold on and lose control of the situation

My world has gone silent and black

As I sink towards the bottom I’m pulled back

I open my eyes and I see my favorite face

I can’t comprehend how he’s in this place

Johnny starts to cry when he sees I’m alive

He saw me go over and didn’t think I’d survive

He was able to mark where I went over the rail

When he got to shore he knew he couldn’t fail

Able to use the phone GPS to map a search plan

He secured a speedboat and hurried to where it began

Desperately searching he had almost lost all hope

He spotted me just as he reached the end of his rope

When he saw me go under it was a devastating blow

And now that we are together he will never let me go

Oh, and there’s something else that Johnny needs to tell

Not only did he find me, he found the jewels as well

So once again it looks like we’ve come out on top

This means chasing down adventures is never going to stop

fact or fiction
1

About the Creator

Kelly A Curran

Writing for fun.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.