Poets logo

A Dash, Cash and Splash Pre-Hash

Fine wine before a book in a nook

By Kelly A CurranPublished 3 years ago 3 min read

Today is a beautiful day just for me

I head to the beach to watch the sea

The waves, birds and people all easily mix

This is my go to option for a serenity fix

Relaxing and enjoying life without a plan

My attention is caught by a handsome man

He isn’t doing much but has a confident flair

When he looks my way I gasp for air

We spend some time in a flirty dance

As I watch him move I go into a trance

The next thing I know he’s coming my way

I have a feeling this will be a memorable day

His name is Johnny and he’s new in town

He wants my time and of course I’m down

Our conversation is deep, filled with emotion

His elegant words are like a love potion

He shares stories that draw me in deep

Our connection is a treasure I know I’ll keep

He has a bike and wants to go for a ride

I’m under his spell so I’m staying by his side

We meld together flying through the streets

The rush is interrupted when I see the police

I feel Johnny tense as he maneuvers around cars

Now I’m worried that I’ll end up behind bars

As the speed increases the world starts to blur

The danger awakens a feeling I definitely prefer

Over my shoulder I see it’s not the cops in pursuit

There’s a guy all in black that’s a sinister brute

I’m regretting decisions made on a whim

There’s no turning back so I’m stuck with him

Johnny is banking around turns at a furious pace

We’re holding the lead in this high pressure race

Up ahead there’s a bridge starting to rise high

The bike revs loudly since we’re going to fly

I tighten my grip and squeeze my eyes tight

The bike is carving the air like a bird in flight

As we bounce on pavement I let out my breath

It’s a miracle that we’ve skirted our death

Johnny can’t hold on so we’re sliding down the street

We come to a stop and I’m pulled to my feet

We’re holding hands and running away fast

Behind us we hear the sound of a blast

My head is spinning but I’m trusting this stranger

I feel safe with him despite the danger

Moving through the crowd we come to a cafe

There’s a table in the back so we sit hidden away

The waitress is shocked at our disheveled state

We tell her we are fine and just here to celebrate

As she walks away Johnny gives a head shake

He’s sorry he got me into this with so much at stake

He didn’t mean for me to be involved in his mess

He keeps to himself which is usually for the best

It was the attraction he felt when we met at the beach

For the first time he believed love was in reach

Johnny’s about to tell me everything he knows

He’s interrupted with much more to disclose

The waitress drops off our drinks and scurries out

I swirl my glass of Merlot wondering what he’s really about

He easily sits with his goofy smile and tousled hair

I realize I should be worried but I don’t care

He grabs my hand gently and whispers in my ear

He can’t tell me everything but I should have no fear

I’m completely taken with his sincerity and charm

I fully believe that he will protect me from harm

As I lean back in my chair I realize this was an insane first date

I know I’ll be onboard for whatever adventures await

This man is a complex mystery I want to solve

But today I’m content to just anticipate what might evolve

fact or fiction

About the Creator

Kelly A Curran

Writing for fun.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kelly A CurranWritten by Kelly A Curran

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.