Poets logo

Anniversary number 4

a jumble of words

By JackiebeePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Anniversary number 4
Photo by Muhammad Murtaza Ghani on Unsplash

ten years

He had carried me

precious in his heart

And on his ring finger

four years later

he holds me down

when I jump without looking

And I push him forward

when his steps are weighed by doubt

This love

in its many incarnations

builds my home

What's in a home?

Is it just walls and window panes?

A stone's throw away from shattering

A tipped candle away from burning

Is the home in a quiet garden

Or the boisterous clashing of dishes and pots

Because when he holds me

Flames are lit and I don't burn

No stone thrown shatters me

He quietly kisses the ring on my finger

...he thinks I'm asleep

Even in a morning haze I know,

My home is where his heart is

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.