Poets logo

An Update on a Poem a Day in February

A few poems/rhymes for you.

By Denise E LindquistPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 2 min read
An Update on a Poem a Day in February
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Today I called my granddaughter and asked her if she would help me choose the best Valentine poems/rhymes. Any format or non-required. I told her that I knew she is a writer as I have watched her writing over the years and she is a good writer.

Then I asked if she knew about poetry and rhyme. She said she loves it and she would be happy to help me narrow down my list. The end date and time for the Valentine poems/rhymes is February 14, 2024, at noon.

The first contest prizes are in the mail. We had a rhyming haiku contest and a rhyme contest, for a total of 6 winners. I had a friend who has a master's degree in poetry select the haiku winners. My husband, who rhymes all the time selected the rhyming winners.

Then we have some honorable mentions that will go into the book at the end of the month that I helped to select.

It is difficult for me as I know all the entrants. And I want everyone to win.

A couple of times a day I encourage others to post a poem/rhyme, or submit something for the contest. There are 4 contests in the month. I also put different formats out for others to try. I respond to most with poetry/rhyme or at minimum emojis.

Examples of poems/rhymes to follow:

February 1-2, 2024

here we go

it's time to rhyme you know

poetry or rhyme

it's rhyme this time

strictly rhyme on my dime

prizes for the best is only right

excited to see what you write

a poem a day in February

no longer January

I am sure of it today

no one can call me on the day

the first of February is here

29 days in this month Dear

so let's get to it!

~~~~

Rhyming Haiku

Lovely poetry

Rhyming in all our glory

We tell a story

~~~~

The young pope. SheKnows.com

The photo above reminds me of my mother

She was like no other

A pair of underwear on her head

it kept her hair in better she said!

~

Here comes Brandon with the same

he was copying Grandma, that was his game

I can still see him to this day and he is twenty-five

so much fun in my lifetime, being alive

~

I have seen the picture above in my family too

but can't remember who

Memory can get in the way

Darn, I say!

~

Please share your best rhyme

for a contest that ends Wednesday this time.

Can't wait to see what else you got for us

yesterday the poetry/rhyme was fabulous!💖

~~~~~~~~

Note: Just a short example of what I write each day for all the poets I read everyday!

humorHaikuFree VerseFor Fun

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    This was so fun and loved all your poems!

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Beautiful 🥰I love the meme

  • Test5 months ago

    Keep up the fantastic work, and I'm sure the poems and rhymes submitted for the Valentine's contest will be filled with love, creativity, and passion!❤💖💓

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Awesome!!!♥️♥️💕

Denise E LindquistWritten by Denise E Lindquist

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.