Poets logo

When I see you

And when I see you

By Denise E LindquistPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
5
When I see you
Photo by Adrian Swancar on Unsplash

When I see you

feeling blue.

Many a yesterday

without you.

It will be okay.

~

It will be okay

without you!

Many a yesterday,

feeling blue

when I see you.

~~~~

The Prompt - Write a poem that takes on a different meaning when you read the lines from bottom to top.

Your task is to create a reverse poem—an enchanting composition that unfolds with one meaning when reading the lines from top to bottom, and an entirely different meaning when reading the lines in reverse from bottom to top. Carefully choose words to construct lines that reveal hidden depths and unexpected twists in both directions. Your poem does not need to start and end with repeated lines.

sad poetryheartbreak
5

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer3 months ago

    I had to read this one a couple of times for it to sink in! Well done!

  • Oooo, this was so well done! It had to very distinct meaning when read from top to bottom and in reverse!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.