Poets logo

An Open Letter to My Children

From, the Backpack Parent

By Caitlin FladagerPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
4

An open letter to my children,

I am the backpack of the family.

I carry all of your things, while you run towards your friends.

I hold all of your jackets, toys, and food.

I am your silent cheerleader.

I make sure my hands are full, so yours are free to do what you love.

You may not see me much, as I am often in the background at birthday parties, bbq’s, and dinners.

I am the one holding your jacket, so you can wear your dress.

I am the one holding your plates full of food, while you pick over what you actually want to eat.

I am the one sitting down last at dinner, because I need to make sure your dinner plate is full, first.

I carry a lot.

Physically, and mentally.

I am the one who carries your belongings, but I also carry your problems when they are too heavy for just you to carry.

I am the one who you come running to when you get a boo-boo.

I am the one who listens to all of your worries, and helps you solve them.

I am the one who may not be the most patient during the day, but I promise when you are sleeping, I always stroke your face, and tell you “I am sorry, I love you.”

I am the one who sits silently on the couch watching you play, while I fold your laundry. I know it seems like I’m not wanting to play with you, but I do.

I am the one who you think gets upset at you a lot, but it is only because I love you. And I feel overwhelmed sometimes with all that I am carrying.

I am the one who almost always is taking the pictures, but rarely is in them.

I am the one that spends most of her energy setting up a tent on the beach, and making sure you are all covered in sunscreen, but then needs to sit in the back after to regain some energy, while I watch you run around so free in the water.

I am the backpack of my family.

It is not an easy job, and it is a quiet job that you do not really see.

But I would not want to be anything else. I would not want to be the one in the front, the one in all the pictures, or the one that you hold.

I love being your safe place.

I love being your backpack.

I love being the person who can help carry the load for you, when your thoughts get a little too heavy.

When your arms get a little too full.

I will always be there to lighten it for you.

I will always be here to help you carry whatever you need when it gets just a little to heavy for you.

Put it all on me. Physically and mentally.

Love, your mom.

(The backpack parent.)

childrens poetry
4

About the Creator

Caitlin Fladager

Mother | Wife | Mental Health Advocate

Telling my "Reel" truth about marriage & motherhood on Instagram, Facebook, Tiktok & Vocal

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.