Poets logo

An Ode To You

Coming Out Shouldn't Be This Hard

By Nia WheatPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
An Ode To You
Photo by Katie Rainbow 🏳️‍🌈 on Unsplash

I write this to you, my dear friend.

The one who was courageous.

The one who took all the necessary steps, precautions, and cautions.

The one who buckled down,

dotted your I's and crossed your T's...

Only to feel "doubt, sadness, and confusion"

when coming out to your family

I don't know what to say coupled with I don't have the words.

I'm sorry.

I want to scream at people.

Throw chairs across the room.

Sit and heavy breathe and cry

Because you...

You are the best of us.

You try hard,

you love hard,

you're a great listener,

you followed your heart,

you deserve so much beauty in this life.

You took care of me in my times of need.

I watched you take care of your wife with open arms.

Despite everything you buckled down and buckled in for the ride...

the whole ride,

and it wasn't easy,

but now this...

I write this to you my friend.

My words have no weight.

I want to take this from you so badly.

Your doubt, your shame, your sadness and confusion,

all of it.

We live in a society where our own homes are a threat to us, a threat to them, a threat to our very society.

We are traumatized, and triggered, and told to be otherwise...

someone other than who we really are.

We go to Pride every year...

We have no problem with gays just as long as they stay away from us,

stay... over there...

Don't be a you know what.

We are sinners.

We are not loveable.

We will never make it into heaven.

You need to repent now... right now...

We accuse, abuse, neglect, change laws over our kind...my kind...

I'm sorry friend.

My words hold no weight.

I want to take all of this away.

You deserve the world.

My fingers can't type fast enough.

I just want you to know that you are remarkable.

You are my go-to,

you have held me up when I couldn't,

you have been my only person on some days,

and I am so proud of you.

My words hold no weight up to theirs, I know, I get it.

I'm not sewn from the same cloth but you are my sister in love and life.

I can tell you all kinds of kind words, show you all of my kindness, but like you said, "their words cut deep".

Like knives, I would assume, or maybe like a gun that shot you in so many different places.

You were like a soldier going into war...

I hate saying the term "coming out".

Coming out of what?!

We are who we are.

There is no shame.

Nothing to come out from...

No one to come out too.

And yet... not everyone feels the same way as I do.

I have reached full blown acceptance in myself.

Grew up with no real family so again, I am no sewn from the same cloth.

But they are just people and the acceptance has to start with you, within you.

But again, I'm sorry friend.

My words hold no weight

but you are courageous beyond belief.

You are a soldier that went into battle and now are a wounded warrior that will heal, with time.

I wish to take your pain away and see you happy again.

You deserve that. Not this.

Love is kind.

Love is respectful.

Love has no boundaries.

Love has no end or beginning.

Love is free-flowing and everlasting.

Love is beautiful, magical chaos.

Love is what love is.

Love is peaceful.

Love is war.

Love is the thought before you retaliate.

Love is the moment you inhale before your heart surrenders.

Love is you.

Love is me.

Love is him and him.

Love is him and her.

Love is you and her.

And everything you both have built, and will build with each other.

And no one can ever take any of this away from you.

I accept you.

I see you.

I acknowledge you and your words.

I am here for you.

I will be there for you.

You will never have to "come out" to me,

or fear of my acceptance and love for you.

I love you my dear friend.

This is an ode to you.

love poems
Like

About the Creator

Nia Wheat

▪▪▪A Way of Expression. ✌🏽▪▪▪

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.