Poets logo

An Ode to Spatchcocked Chicken

Table Humor - With My Apologies to Bill Shakespeare

By Dana CrandellPublished 2 years ago β€’ Updated 11 months ago β€’ 1 min read
26
"Spatchcocked Chicken" by Dana O. Crandell

(This one is best read with your best Vincent Price voice impression)

O' spatchcocked chicken, so divine

Deprived of breastbone, tail and spine,

Spread in most immodest fashion!

Rubbed with spices, oil and passion!

---

Thrust on heated iron grating,

Searing in those juices waiting

To be bathed in sav'ry smoke

Of natural mesquite and oak.

---

There, thou sizzled, slowly roasting,

Flavors mixing, spices toasting

While thy thighs cooked by convection

'Til thy skin was crisp'd perfection.

---

Oh, the joy! The bliss! The rapture

As the barbecue tongs capture

Thy distended, splitting breast

And I set you aside to rest.

---

Dice cucumber and tomato.

Unwrap foil from red potato.

Now the knife! Cut true and steady!

(Tell the wife that dinner's ready.)

---

At long last, my fork impales thee

And my table knife assails thee

And my senses know the pleasure

Of thy flavor, beyond measure.

---

Ah, my lovely fowl, my chicken,

I am cursed - forever stricken

By a bird that eats its poop.

Tomorrow's dinner? Chicken soup!

***

Author's Note: This, my first-published story on Vocal, was written a day after discussing poetry with my daughter during a meal. When she was younger, we used to come up with silly little rhymes for fun. I often wish we'd written them down.

Thanks for reading!

vintage
26

About the Creator

Dana Crandell

Dad, Stedpad, Grandpa, Husband, lover of Nature and dogs.

Poet, Writer, Editor, Photographer, Artist and Tech/Internet nerd. Content writer by trade. Vocal Creator by choice.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    Well Thanks for that Dana... Now I'm craving chicken!! But also I love the way you have this ability to impart your wonderful sense of humour in these pieces of yours! 😊 Great work, I loved this!!

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    I'm in awe of your rhyming skills, as always, Dana. This one is particularly fantastic, as it brings in more senses than poems usually do, and I love that last stanza. I'm sorry I waited so long to read this! Absolutely fantastic! And now I'm hungry.

  • Mother Combs8 months ago

    Yum, now I am hungry

  • Paul Stewart9 months ago

    So glad you entered this in! Lovely stuff, funny and so very good!

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    Perfect submission for this challenge!πŸ—

  • Naomi Gold9 months ago

    I have no idea who Vincent Price is, but this made me laugh anyways… and crave chicken. The picture is so enticing! That naughty bird, posed immodestly, looks hot. πŸ”₯ LOL. I love when you write things that make you apologize to Bill.

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Vincent price did an amazing job narrating. As for the poem and the chicken, let’s just say, mouth watering and humorous. Well done.

  • Another gem Paul dredged up. Delightful (& looks tasty).

  • Sara Wilson9 months ago

    I have never had chicken this way. This piece made me want it lol. πŸ€— It's written so well and I honestly laughed out loud at the end 🀣

  • Perfectly written, Dana. I love the prompt to read this in the voice of Vincent Price. I actually have a cookbook from Vincent Price and his wife (one of my very favorite cookbooks), and I imagined this as an entry there. I love the way this poem flows and creates such powerful imagery! What time is dinner?!

  • -Lol, not the Poop πŸ’©πŸ˜†Great Job on this Awesome, Piece πŸ’œ

  • Donna Renee9 months ago

    Oh my gosh that was so cute and funny! To me, it sounds like something a hobbit might also recite while cooking 😁😁😁

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Great use of language and flow, it felt like I was reading Poe!

  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Oh, this is brilliant! haha. I loved the direction to read it as Vincent Price, which made it even better! Sterling, creative, funny and poetic stuff, right here, my friend!

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Haha!! How the heck did I miss this? A M A Z I N G!! πŸ˜‚πŸ’«

  • L.C. SchΓ€fer12 months ago

    Love it!!! πŸ˜πŸ˜‚πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    haha. I absolutely love this! Great entry.

  • Moe Radosevich12 months ago

    overflowing fantasia buddy, I can taste that bird yummy

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.