Poets logo

An Ode to Perception

change your lens

By Brin J.Published 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 1 min read
15
*Unsplash* redcharlie-

What would you want to see

With no lenses filtering your vision

With no one telling you how to look at things

How would you live your life

Would you see the galaxy clearly

Would you admire the trees

Would you like your reflection

Be honest with yourself

Do even you care about perception

Or would you rather live blindly

Absorb what others show you

To see only what you're told to

Have you given any thought to it

Do you prefer an obstructed view

Why are you so content

Is it to your liking

See things without intent

Try looking through another lens

***Inverse***

Ode
15

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson2 months ago

    Spectacular!!! Love your impressive reverse poem!!!💕♥️♥️

  • A. Lenae3 months ago

    Your poem is really thought-provoking and does a great job of quietening the mind. This is a beautiful poem that could be paired with any type of mindfulness practice, like meditation. "What do I want to see?" Excellent piece.

  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    What would I want to see...I'm doing this right now, there's is something my urge is to be vindictive over, and I am asking myself, what do I want to see in the mirror.

  • D.K. Shepard3 months ago

    Excellent inverse! Definitely a lot of intentionality in crafting the flip!

  • Gargie S Anand3 months ago

    This has to be the best. The reverse was equally lovely.

  • Oooo, this was so deep! I love how reading it in reverse meant looking at it in a different way, which is what this poem is about!

  • Cathy holmes3 months ago

    This is a great inverse. Well done.

  • Either way I read it, I want to see someone with whom I want to be wanting to be with me. In other words, I want to see through a fantasy lens. Still, I love the poem, Brin. Well done.

  • Brenton F3 months ago

    What a brilliant piece! It wasn't until I got to your prompt that I read it again and was doubly delighted! - Definitely in my Top 5! Coupled with an almost perfect image.

  • Lindsay Sfara3 months ago

    This is such a wonderful inverse poem. Beautifully done!

  • Nice 💜

  • Donna Fox (HKB)3 months ago

    Brin this is a fabulous entry to the inverse challenge!! I love what you did here! It's insightful, thought provoking and brilliant! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.