Poets logo

an echo in ruins

do you hear it?

By Heather HublerPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
23
Created with NightCafeStudio

i've become a walking echo.

a sickly rhythm

pounds out my staccato heartbeat,

reverberating through

my hollow bones.

it bounces off the

fleshy walls

that hold in screams

unable to pass through

my desecrated lips.

all the voices magnify,

their endless refrain,

a tired chorus

caught inside the

bombed out shell of

my mind's cathedral,

the ones that tell me

i should quit...

pretending.

seething.

searching.

breathing.

i'm brought low to the altar,

again and again,

prayers whispered in agony

as the numbness creeps in,

and yet...

i stare at you and wonder

what you see staring back.

then i realize

i've had the answer all this time–

you never see me at all.

___________________________________________________

Thank you for reading! xx ~H

sad poetryheartbreak
23

About the Creator

Heather Hubler

Reading/writing/science/family=life

Visit

fb * X * insta

OMG creators

Mike Dharr Cathy DanaS Babs Brin

Gina Tiff Grz KJ Thavien CH Kelli

Veronica BrentonF Paul Dean Holly Lamar

Caroline Melissa JS Donna Moe

Gerald DanaC JBaz Kristen Randy

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • rose amy4 months ago

    nice

  • Grz Colm5 months ago

    I see you 👀 and hear you !..six days later!! Bit of a vocal break. Excellent little piece Heather! 😊👏 well done. I hope you are travelling well too! ☺️👍

  • Mariann Carroll5 months ago

    Wow , this is an excellent poem . I love how you compare a wall to a relationship where the other partner does not notice the other person at all

  • Kristen Balyeat5 months ago

    This just knocked my socks off. What a beautifully raw and emotional piece. Every line so heavily weighted—brought tears to my eyes. “caught inside the bombed out shell of my mind's cathedral” Powerful! Sending love to you and all the places of your heart that this piece came from. ✨💞💫

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    Magnificent writing HH! BRAVO!!

  • This was powerful love the imagery of the ruins of a church nicely done

  • Z.a.i.n.t.z5 months ago

    Interesting im wowed 🎯❤️🤞🏾

  • Kenny Penn5 months ago

    Good gawd Heather, beautifully done and heartbreaking

  • C. H. Richard5 months ago

    Wow love that last line, but also felt this line deeply "a tired chorus caught inside the bombed out shell of my minds cathedral" - just amazing 👏 ❤️

  • Daphsam5 months ago

    Wow, this is so poetically beautiful.

  • Dana Crandell5 months ago

    Well, everyone else has already said it, but that last line? Damn!

  • Teresa Renton5 months ago

    Oh you shook me with this one Heather 🫢. That last line cut deep. Also hoping this is creative license and not a current situation. But I know that, on reflection, it could represent a memoir for many of us. Well done ❤️

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    And there is my heart on the floor again...lol. I hope you are okay and this isn't truly autobiographical. This like so many people have said is some of your finest work, Heather...that last line - yeah, that's a nasty, stabby in the heart chef's kiss if ever there was one. Well done and I agree with Mike...this will eventually be a Top Story and rightly so.

  • Echoes how I feel a lot of the time, people would miss me if I disappeared, but seldom see me , excellent words and another Top Story coming methinks

  • "I'm brought low to the alter" smacked me in the face, and then the last line broke my heart ❤❤❤ You are so talented, please never stop creating :-D xx

  • "You never see me at all" Those were just six words but it felt like it was sixty stabs to the heart. I don't think even that would be more painful than not being seen. This was just so heartbreaking. Are you okay my sweet looney partner? 🥺

  • Such a plaintive sense of invisibility & emptiness. On a personal note, I just want to say that anyone who does not see you for the gracious, generous, caring person you are has & is missing out on one of the great gifts of God's creation. I know that's small consolation when the person who doesn't see you is someone who matters greatly to you & that the wound it opens is deep & viciously/brutally painful. But I want you to hear it anyway. Blessings, my friend.

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    This one is so beautiful but dang it stings 😞😞❤️

  • Lamar Wiggins5 months ago

    The flow of this poem was amazing. The pacing was spot on! Some of your best work, Heather. I'm floored! 😮

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Damn. You've outdone yourself with this. It's like you've reached into to your chest, ripped out your own heart, and bled it onto the page. As a reader, this is an exceptionally stirring piece. As a friend, this better be "just a poem" or I'm gonna have to whip someone.

  • Babs Iverson5 months ago

    Brilliantly written!!! Heartbreaking!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Well written but oh so sad.... love your "i'm brought low to the altar, again and again, prayers whispered in agony" (I understand that one very well.)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.