Poets logo

An Anti-Ode

May some words Rest in Peace🙏🏽: Written for The Most and Least favorite words Poetry Challenge.

By Lamar WigginsPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
17
An Anti-Ode
Photo by The Good Funeral Guide on Unsplash

Join in on Paul Stewart's fun. Find all the juicy details below.

Words words are here to stay.

We use them to argue, we use them to pray.

We use them to persuade, we use them to laugh,

we even use them to describe a bath...

***

Not all words flow like the sea.

Take for instance, Mahogany.

It sounds like an aliment strictly for swine.

Its reverence, however, compares to good wine.

The blatant overuse makes me wonder...

am I missing something? is it a voguish blunder?

Certainly, there has to be other ways

to describe the luster of a wooden chaise.

Try using Hickory, Red Oak or Birch.

A wealth of others, if only we search...

***

Then there are words that flow with delight.

Plethora is strong and conveys its might.

It describes abundance with elegance and grace;

boasting the skill to put smiles on this face.

If only I had my own selfish way,

Mahogany would be buried as of today.

Just the word, never the tree.

There is a plethora of sounds it yearns to be.

As for now, I draw a truce,

maybe a petition will turn it loose.

Either way, I'll never give in.

The word, Mahogany, has become a sin.

><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><

By Crispin Jones on Unsplash

A/N: Sorry, i don't get it. Mahogany does sound expensive and lavish for the most part. On the other hand, so what! It doesn't flow for me. Plus, most characters in stories can't afford it anyway 😂.

humorsocial commentaryslam poetry
17

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • L.C. Schäfer4 months ago

    I've always thought of it as rich-sounding and luxurious... but now all I can think of is PIGS 😁

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Could be a name for pet pig, maybe? "This is ma hog, Ony."

  • Real Poetic4 months ago

    “Most characters in stories can’t afford it anyway” The accuracy made me laugh out loud! This was a very fun read. Thank you lol.

  • Mackenzie Davis5 months ago

    Lol, the pig comparison got me good, Lamar. I never thought of that before! This was so funny, and I agree, "plethora" is a beautiful word. But I always liked "mahogany" for it's richness. Something about that 'g' adds a nice layer of depth. Like the 'd' in 'burgandy.'

  • Tiffany Gordon 5 months ago

    ❤❤❤

  • Paul Stewart5 months ago

    Well now. I wholeheartedly agree with you on both counts, to be honest. I hate mahogany as a colour really, prefer other types of wood. Also, the name just has a very meh feel to me. I hate that I used the word meh lol, but it best describes it. Also, love plethora and there are a plethora of times I have overused it due to my love. You know what...I loved this poem and so glad you entered my little challenge. And the pic of hogs at the end was awesome. Thanks again and well done!

  • Donna Renee5 months ago

    🤣🤣well… I’ve never thought of it like that, that’s for sure!! This is great!!

  • Raymond G. Taylor5 months ago

    Great ode to good words and bad. Though ouch! I have used mahogany recently and now wondering if I should edit. Love the pigs

  • Caroline Jane5 months ago

    This is a wonderful anti-ode. First one i have ever read but am sure it will be hard to beat! Seamlessly put together and delightfully amusing. 🥰

  • Hannah Moore5 months ago

    This is fantastic, though I'm not sure I wholly agree, it's a handy short hand for "heirloom piece conveying generational wealth".

  • The bold hog in mahogany and that photo of pigs took me out! 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I loved your poem so much!

  • Andrew C McDonald5 months ago

    Lol. This is cute. I adore the hog pic at the end. Perfect. Good job Lamar

  • "Oakay," I said with an ashen look on my face. See their (cedar) elm-entary attempts to apple-eye & peek-on..., "Orange you glad I'm getting tired of trying to come up with puns?" as I smack the palm of my hand against my coconut.

  • Shirley Belk5 months ago

    Lamar, I loved your poem. I'm blushing though because I am writing a story that has a mahogany door in it...I'll be publishing soon. lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.