Poets logo

An Afternoon Delight

Mom's Cheeseburgers

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 2 months ago β€’ Updated 2 months ago β€’ 1 min read
17
Image created with NightCafe Studio

Many decades in the past

When I was just a little boy

I was such a curious lad

And eating brought me heaps of joy

πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”

Mother was so young and beautiful

She cooked us burgers topped with cheese

Juicy and delightful

A feast that always pleased

πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”

In Conversations with my friends

We spoke highly of those tasty bites

Soda and cheeseburgers made us happy to the end

Oh how much we loved them such an afternoon delight

πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”

Our appetites were whetted

Mother knew what pleased our taste

No one ever regretted

Those burgers we embraced

πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”

When we finished our meal

We graciously thanked my mom

With love, she sealed the deal

β€œThe burgers were the bomb”

πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”

Now I am an adult

And I think of Mama's burgers

With the tasty result

Of her love and of her nurture

πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”

The happy boy inside me

Has fond memories of my mommy

Her thoughtful caring looks

And the burgers that she cooked

πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”

Photo of my mom back in 1965 when she cooked us those tasty burgers!!!

πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”πŸ”

With Love, RHC ❀️

inspirationalhumorGratitudeFriendshipFor FunFamily
17

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iverson29 days ago

    Awwww1965!!! Great trip down memory lane!!! Cheese burgers are always a delight when made with a mother's love. Fantastic poem and picture of you mom. Loved it!!!πŸ’•β€οΈβ€οΈ

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Well-wrought! I teared up a little, not for burgers (though I have in the past while chopping onions!) but for your love of your mother. My own ma made the best tuna patties, and my pop was the chili man!

  • Great poem rick

  • Susan FourtanΓ©2 months ago

    A fest to the senses. It sounds delicious.

  • No Hamburglars for you only the best will do. Such blessed memories. For us it was PB&J sandwiches on Wonder Bread.

  • J. S. Wade2 months ago

    Love this Rick. Sensory Memories, like mental bricks and mortar are foundations of our relationships in life. You’ve captured this well. One medium well please, fries on the side. πŸ˜€

  • Mmmm, I'm craving burgers now! Loved your poem!

  • Tiffany Gordon 2 months ago

    Loved the heartfelt joy & nostalgia displayed in this piece! Also, Momma Is is gorgeous! What a wonderful snap shot of a childhood memory! Nice work!πŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎ

  • Marie Wilson2 months ago

    Love that shot of your mom. And oh man, do I want a burger now. Delicious poem, Rick Henry Christopher!

  • Rebecca Patton2 months ago

    Aw, this was quite nice! I like how you showed appreciation for your mom and your love for burgers. Good job.

  • Chloe Gilholy2 months ago

    This was lovely. I just made some burgers for my tea before reading this.

  • Shirley Belk2 months ago

    Your mother has such an aura of innocent beauty about her! And those cheeseburgers sound delicious :)

  • D. J. Reddall2 months ago

    A charming tribute!

  • Your mom is beautiful. Big thick juicy cheeseburgers and crispy onion rings were my favorite. My mom cooked the burgers. My poppa made homemade cherry vanilla ice cream.

  • Judey Kalchik 2 months ago

    Great memories, and a lovely photo of your Mom.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

Β© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.