Poets logo

Almond Milk - The Taste of Death

Yeah...never offer me Almond Milk.For Donna Renee!

By Paul StewartPublished 12 months ago 2 min read
Almond Milk - The Taste of Death
Photo by dhanya purohit on Unsplash

Do you know what I really love?

When people look at me and say

Straight-faced, full of intent

Full of feeling and seriousness

With no sign of a punchline

That they hand on heart believe

Almond milk tastes just as good

Just as nice or even a bit better

Than good old reliable cow's milk

With smugness across their faces

With a nasty funk on their breaths

Like they are the most marvellous

I know some people can't help it

They can't help their aversion

They can't help their allergy

They can't help their intolerance

I am sorry, but I will never agree

But let's be serious. Let's not lie

Almond milk tastes like death juice

Death juice with all the fun removed

You're probably screaming at the screen

What about sweetened or flavoured varieties?

What about them? They are flavoured death

Flavoured death in a (possibly) recycled carton

I love marzipan, frangipane, and Amaretto

Roasted, toasted almonds are delicious

Almond milk, though, deserves the drain

The drain or a fire that boils and burns it

Maybe then it would have some flavour

Maybe then it would not make me want to vomit

I hate even touching almond milk cartons

You can feel the death taste seeping out

You can taste the lack of joy in the air

That thick, creamy texture. Something that normally brings me joy.

With that thick, creamy, nutty, deathly flavour.

I can feel the anger bubbling away as I want to punch the carton and find the person that made the crap in the carton and

(redacted)

Take their almonds away from them and find them a new career

Sweetened almond milk is like death dressed up with no place to go.

It doesn't make it any easier to go down. It doesn't make it nice.

No, I do not want almond milk in my hot drink. Don't even offer it to me.

Take a picture of my face and put it on your coffee shop wall.

Make sure all your staff know and when you are training newbies, tell me.

Put the almond milk down and step away from my hot drink...you clearly should not be allowed to call yourself a barista. Give me my full-fat cow's milk and go and have a little cry in the corner.

Take your soy, hazelnut, oat milk, and stay away from my mug.

Leave the banana milk, though, because yum.

*

Thanks for reading!

Part of a challenge between Donna Renee and myself (and anyone else who is game). Check hers out here:

If you want to play along, write a poem (or letter or song or whatever) to your least favorite food. Obviously, I don’t much care for marshmallows. 🫣

social commentarysurreal poetryslam poetryperformance poetryinspirationalhumor

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (25)

  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    I actually like almond milk so refused to like this post when I read it many moons ago! Felt like an attack! Sorry! 😅😂

  • Donna Fox (HKB)12 months ago

    Paul….. death juice?! Hahahah! 🤣 That’s a great line!! I laughed so hard through out this piece! It’s was great!! I love that you redacted a line… that was great! Probably smart not put the idea in writing. Lol I love that you and Donna had this challenge between the two of you! It really turned into something fun for everyone!

  • Meg12 months ago

    "Death juice" what a great line! Not a fan of almond milk myself, but I find oat milk has a great texture and taste!

  • Lamar Wiggins12 months ago

    "I hate even touching almond milk cartons." 😅 Well, you go this one right. If I wanted almonds in my milk, I'll just crush some on top lol. Probably not the best texture but that's beside the point.

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    Fun stuff! I did one as well if you want 2 check it out. It's called Spice Me not! 😁

  • Real Poetic12 months ago

    “Good ole reliable cows milk” never let me down before!

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    I have one more word for you and Donna: anthology.

  • Kristen Balyeat12 months ago

    Haha!!! This is SO FUNNY, Paul! I’m with you on the Almond milk hater train! “Death juice” 😂 so perfect!!! I laughed out loud through this entire thing! Working on mine… such a fun little challenge! Great job!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    You two are cracking me up! I just posted my ode to Sausage gravy if you want to read it.

  • Ha! Very clever. For those of us who are lactose intolerant, almond milk is an alternative, but it doesn't measure up to the real thing!

  • Tiffany Gordon 12 months ago

    LOL! Very Clever! Nice work! :)

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    I just posted mine, if you'd like to see.

  • Novel Allen12 months ago

    I don't like almond milk, but geez, I feel so sorry for it after that rant. Marshmallows, are ok. I can live without it. You guys are terrible. Can't wait to write one myself. Is there a deadline or something?

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Haha. That's funny, but it's not that bad. Is it?

  • Test12 months ago

    Hahahahaha so much hate. Which barista hurt you, Paul? 😂 Problem is I am laughing and sipping an almond milk coffee simultaneously (smugly haha) and now I'm all kinds of confused. Love your work, Paul! You are hilarious.

  • Babs Iverson12 months ago

    We all have to make our own healthy choices!!! Well, what can I say? Left a bloody ♥

  • I'm not a huge fan of almond milk and almond products. Neither do I hate them. They're like in the neutral zone for me hahaha. But thank you for this poem. Now I know how to get you 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

  • J. S. Wade12 months ago

    I’ve got Milk ! Lol. Fresh buttery milk from a local farm. If you haven’t watched “The Ranch”. Look for it, Sam Elliot makes it clear what he thinks of Almond milk.

  • Naomi Gold12 months ago

    OMG… this was hilarious! 🤣 “Sweetened almond milk is like death dressed up with no place to go.” Hahahaha! I agree that almond milk is foul. I don’t like cow’s milk either, though. Even as a small child I wouldn’t drink it. But when it comes to lattes, I need that full fat cow’s milk. Yum. Almond milk has such a weird aftertaste.

  • I'm sorry, but I prefer unsweetened vanilla almond milk to virtually any other variety of dairy or non-dairy beverage, especially with chocolate stirred into it. Raw tomatoes, on the other hand.... Can't keep 'em down.

  • Jazzy 12 months ago

    Lol this almost made me hate almond milk! I don’t like almond milk bc of the added gums and whatnot; and full fat milk will always be my go to! 😊

  • Hahaha I love all the metaphors you use for this, that was really funny and really well done.

  • Dana Crandell12 months ago

    I'm with you! (and there's probably no way I'd try to compete with you and Donna)

  • Mariann Carroll12 months ago

    I don’t like Almond milk either . Especially Almond butter

  • Donna Renee12 months ago

    Death juice 🤣🤣 “Redacted” bahahahaha that was hilarious!! Okay yeah… It does taste pretty weird but idk if “death juice” is what I would have pegged it as 🤣🤣maybe more like “dirt juice”…? “Diaper juice”, perhaps? I do also kinda hate soy milk and almond milk and coconut milk but oat milk, come on! that’s just delicious and you can’t convince me otherwise!

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.