Poets logo

All those streets

Yours & Mine

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
All those streets
Photo by Maixent Viau on Unsplash

all the streets

My mother walked down

All those streets she rode on her bike

I dreamed about them

I felt the weight of the memory

All of the streets, all of the people, all of the time

Every street she ever saw a boy she liked from across the way,

Every street she ran out from the rain into her mother and father’s “doll-house”

As her mother called it,

I sensed the history, the sun and the winter and the cold and the sadness,

The quiet and the loud,

The swift bike rides that became

My bike rides,

My streets,

My shared story,

Riding my bike

Within the same heart,

The same gravely, torn up roads,

Rolling down the highest part as though we

We separate from our bodies,

For a brief moment,

And finally heading down, down

Where I can see my mother on some stretch of road near the Creve Coeur park,(on her bike wildly riding down the hill…)

By the sad Indian girl’s Dripping Springs,

A Jewish girl who had a diary about crushes and homework and family,

Who just wanted a family too,

To have a daughter ride her bike,

Street after street, town after town,

Our dreams were not so far away

Or lost after all.

performance poetry

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Melissa IngoldsbyWritten by Melissa Ingoldsby

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.