Poets logo

All I Want

Is to be Loved

By Alisha WilkinsPublished 4 months ago 2 min read
5
All I Want
Photo by Mihail Tregubov on Unsplash

I never thought you’d be the reason I’d learn to hate myself.

I never thought you’d abandon me.

Leaving me stranded,

Waiting on someone to come and save me.

Tears streaming down my cheeks.

I never thought this would end between us.

I never thought that my world would come crumbling down around me.

Filled with darkness and decay.

~

There’s no room to breathe.

There’s no solid ground to hold me up.

I scream out your name,

But you refuse to answer me.

You’ll never come and save me.

~

I’m so scared.

I’m so terrified of losing you.

I’ve confessed that life would be nothing without you.

And now it is.

~

Did I give too much?

Did I give too little?

What’s going on?

I’m breaking down.

My world’s crashing,

Like a tsunami washing everything away.

Where are you?

Why haven’t you rescued me?

~

What did I do wrong?

Why couldn’t you love me like I loved you?

All I want is someone to love me, hold me, cherish me.

All I want is to know that I’m loved and cared about,

The same way that I dedicated my life to you.

~

I close my eyes.

My heart hurts.

Trying to beat its way out of my chest.

Breathe…

I can’t breathe as the water crashes over me.

I won’t survive this pain.

I won’t live through this heartache.

~

Sanity starts to crack and break.

There’s a thin layer of solidity cresting on the water.

Freezing, down to the bone,

I pull myself out of the depths of the water.

I feel the scream escape my lips.

I ball my fists, feeling the nails scrap against the skin.

There’s no justice to save me.

I’ll have to learn to breathe on my own again.

I’ll have to live for me.

~

Don’t leave me alone.

Don’t leave me to my own thoughts.

That damned mirror shows me a stranger.

I’m lost without you.

I’m free without you.

I am enough.

But I’m still dying on the inside.

I want you back.

I want you to suffer like I’m suffering on the inside.

Do you?

Do you feel the pain radiating out of my soul?

~

Breathe…

Learn to live without.

All I want is to feel loved again.

All I want is to be saved.

sad poetryheartbreakFree Verse
5

About the Creator

Alisha Wilkins

I've been writing my whole life. Writing about realms to escape in, forbidden characters to fall in love with, and using writing as my muse and refuge. Sometimes writing opens up the soul to healing, learning, and eventually to living again

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Rowan Finley 3 months ago

    I’m so sorry for the pain you’ve experienced in this life. Sending prayers.

  • Muhammad Shaheer4 months ago

    Don’t leave me alone. Don’t leave me to my own thoughts. Strong love in your words. Alisha Wilkins! I love your emotions. Warm Wishes You can read my poems.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.